Biology: Find Articles
Tips for Searching
Try these tips for effective searching on a database:
- Search the scientific and common names of a term. For example Duckweed OR lemna minor.
- Search both the acronym and the full term.
- Search the specific and more general term for a concept. For example copper sulfate OR heavy metals.
- Consider different spellings of a word, such as center OR centre.
- The non-technical portion of your research likely has many terms to describe a single concept. For example, women OR woman OR female.
Key databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. - Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other material covering environmental sciences. - Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scientific and management literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields.
By Zorba the Geek, CC BY-SA 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=13070917
Other Biology Databases
- IPNI: International Plant Names IndexA collaboration between the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, the Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium. A database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants
- Global Plants This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Plant Science is an online environment that brings together content, tools, and people interested in plant science. It provides access to foundational content vital to plant science – plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials, making them widely accessible to the plant science community as well as to researchers in other fields and to the public. - Agricola This link opens in a new windowCovers materials encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of research journals focused on the biological, biomedical, ecological, and environmental sciences.