TSOCWF 390 Introduction to Research (CJ) : Statistics
Books on Statistics
The Concise Encyclopedia of StatisticsCall Number: Ebook
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Websites
- Foundation CenterThis national nonprofit service organization is recognized as the nation’s leading authority on organized philanthropy, connecting nonprofits and the grant makers supporting them to tools they can use and information they can trust.
They issue a wide variety of print, electronic, and online information resources; conduct and publish research on trends in foundation growth, giving, and practice; and offer an array of free and affordable educational programs. - GrantSpaceThe Foundation Center’s learning community for the social sector!
GrantSpaceSM, offers information and resources that are specifically designed to meet the needs of nonprofits worldwide in need of know-how for securing funding and operating effective organizations.
Criminology Statistics
The following resources will be good places to find statistical information to support your research in Criminology & Criminal Justice.
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsThis site includes statistics and information about crime and victims, criminal offenders, law enforcement, prosecution, the federal justice system, courts and sentencing, corrections, expenditure and employment, criminal record systems, and special topics.
- Federal Bureau of Investigation's Uniform Crime ReportsThe Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet a need for reliable, uniform crime statistics for the nation. In 1930, the FBI was tasked with collecting, publishing, and archiving those statistics. Today, several annual statistical publications, such as the comprehensive Crime in the United States, are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Archives social science data that includes aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science as well as public and mental health.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Services
Contains full text, criminal justice publications from federal, state, and local government along with books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.
- U.S. Department of Justice. Compendum of National Juvenile Justice Data Sets
Maintains data sets about juvenile offending, victimization, and contact with the juvenile justice system. Data sources include official records and self-report data from surveys.
Related Statistical Resources
The following resources will also provide a wealth of statistical information.
- Social Explorer
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to access current and historical U.S. Census data and demographic information. It contains maps, profile reports, data elements, and variables.
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of U.S. citizens.
- National Center for Education StatisticsThe National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- FedStatsMaking statistics from more than 100 agencies available to citizens everywhere.
- OECD iLibrary
Provides full text access to books, journals, and statistical databases produced by Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's (OECD) online library of statistical databases, books, and periodicals.