THIST 375 British Empire - Sundermann: Starting Points
Using encyclopedias
Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events, and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings.
So why use these instead of Wikipedia? The best practice is to use these in addition to Wikipedia, because unlike Wikipedia, the encyclopedias provided here are written by experts in a particular field, Wikipedia entries could be written by anyone; see the Wikipedia general disclaimer.
Specialized Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of EmpireAvailable online
Coverage of empires throughout human history and across the globe.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism Since 1450 Available online.
Includes information about colonialism, British Expansion, imperialism, and much more.
Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire Available online.
A survey of European history from the onset of the French Revolution to the outbreak of World War.
The Kings and Queens of Britain Available online.
Spanning the Romano-British rulers of 55 BC to the present day, this guide includes illustrations, maps, paintings, photos, and genealogies if the rulers of Britain.
The Oxford Dictionary of British History Available online.
With more than 3,800 authoritative entries, this dictionary describes the people and events that have shaped and defined domestic, political, social, and cultural life in Britain since 55 BC.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Available online.
Offering concise, up-to-date biographies, this national record includes information on the men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
The Oxford History of the British EmpireUW Tacoma Library Stacks
DA16 .O95 1998, v. 1-5
This guide contains information about the origins of the empire and events that took place in the 18-20th centuries.
Resources on all subjects
If you're looking for some alternatives to Wikipedia, try searching for information in these collections of reference books. You'll be able to check facts and learn context for any number of topics.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of encyclopedias and other references sources. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of encyclopedias and other references sources. - Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Websites for British History
- BBC History of the British EmpireThis website includes information about the British Empire with background information, brief biographies, etc. Note: It is no longer an active so some features do not work but there it still contains a lot of useful information.
- Empire & Industry from The National ArchivesIncluded in this website are exhibitions and educational information and workshop on various topics covering one hundred years of the British Empire from 1750-1850.
- Victorian WebA project of Brown University that serves as an encyclopedia for the Victorian Era.
- A Vision of Britain through TimeCreated by Humphrey Southall and the Great Britain Historical GIS Project, this website includes historical maps, statistical atlases, historical election results, census reports, and other geographic information regarding Britain.