THIST 487 Technology in the Modern World - Kucher: Web Resources

Gastropod looks at the hidden history and surprising science behind a different food and/or farming-related topic every week.

The Food Chain examines the business, science and cultural significance of food, and what it takes to put food on your plate.

Evan Kleiman's taste of life, culture and the human species.

Investigating every aspect of the food we eat.

Get more information about food distribution, food labeling and packaging, and food safety from the United States Department of Agriculture.

Medieval Technology and American History is a project focusing on the use of medieval technologies in early American settlements. Includes introductory and in-depth articles, timelines, photos & videos and a number of other resources.

This website explores the influences and inventions that have shaped American food habits over the past two hundred years.

The online exhibit takes a closer look at the Esther B. Aresty Rare Book Collection on the Culinary Arts which is comprised of cookery manuscripts and published books of recipes, etiquette and household advice.

This online exhibit takes a closer look at the culinary world of Julia Child, America's favorite chef! Look through the exhibit to learn more about various tools, techniques, and other information about Julia's contribution to food history.

Search through a collection of digitized menus starting in the 1850s - 2000s.

This collection represents menus, placemats, and other graphic materials from many of the Puget Sound area's most famous restaurants and dining facilities in the years between 1889 and 2003.

Search though a collection of restaurant menus in this digitized menu collection which includes approximately 2000 menus dating from 1870-1930.

Published in 1861, Mrs Beeton’s Book of Household Management was a guide to all aspects of running a household in Victorian Britain.

Dedicated to discovering, exploring and promoting the world's foods, their histories, and relevance today, this website provides information about food and food history. Search through articles, images, and more.

This website produces and curates news and analysis on food, agriculture and technology challenges and innovation trends. Read about past and current trends in the food/technology industry.

Get more information about food distribution, food labeling and packaging, and food safety from the United States Department of Agriculture.

Explore food facts from the past, read articles on various food-related topics, and get the true story behind some of your favorite dishes.

Watch Ted Talks on a variety of different food related subjects.

Watch Ted Talks on a variety of different technological topics.

Read articles about various food history related topics.

Created in conjunction with the Smithsonian Institution, this online exhibition "Key Ingredients: America by Food" is an interactive timeline that provides information about the history of food in the US.

This website, created by award-winning food writer, recipe developer, Tori Avey, explores the history behind the food.

This food-centric website includes full-length articles, columns, in-depth interviews, essays — plus slide shows, audio, and video — on a variety of topics, including food and popular culture, history, and humor.

This website includes a variety of information on culinary practices, past and present, in their historical context.

This blog is written by Ivan Day - author and historian of food culture and professional chef - and includes information about the history of food and shows the use of old cooking techniques and tools as old recipes are recreated.

This blog is written by an author and foodie who has a love of the history. Read articles about specific foods, recipes, and the history behind them.