Latino/a and Latin American Studies: Web Resources

A major directory of topics related to U.S. Hispanics, Chicano, and Latin American Studies. LANIC is part of the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) and the Benson Latin American Collection, in partnership with the University of Texas Libraries. Resource guides are accessible by topic or region.

Launched in 2001 by the Pew Research Center to improve public understanding of the Hispanic Population in the US, based on public opinion polling and demographic studies on a wide range of topics. Downloadable data sets, statistical portraits, election fact sheets, interactive maps, and reports.

Materials related to the Caribbean, Latin America, Iberia, and Latinos in the U.S. Find out about the collections held within the Library of Congress, view guides for a variety of exhibitions, and explore online collections.

Online bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Includes bibliographic information for books, journal articles, and online resources. Links to full-text provided when available.

Part of the network of Smithsonian museums, the Smithsonian Latino Center focuses on Latino culture, achievements and contributions. Includes a directory of Latino Museums and cultural collections, in addition to the Latino Virtual Gallery.

Scholarly research on the Chicano-Latino population in the United States. The CSRC hosts numerous archival research projects related to the arts and social sciences.

Hosted by Vanderbilt University and including the AmericasBarometer, surveys of public opinion mostly focusing on democratic values and behaviors. View survey data and designs, studies by country and by year, and a bibliography of studies, articles, and books using LAPOP data.

A non-governmental project from the Center for Latin American Studies at Georgetown University. This database contains information about branches of government, political processes, elections, national constitutions, and other topics related to democracy in Latin America.

A digital repository from the Latin American Council of Social Sciences providing free access to more than 30,000 full-text journal articles, papers, books and multimedia published by the CLASCO network.

Digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in libraries, archives, and private collections.

Access to grey literature in the social sciences produced in Latin American countries.

Primary resources on the colonial history of Latin America.

Full-text articles from science and social science journals in Latin America.

Full-text eBooks covering Latin American history and society. Browse by topic - Latin America.

Companion site to an exhibition at the Smithsonian American Art Museum on contemporary Latino artists. Includes podcasts, video shorts, and photographs of the exhibit's installation.

The literature section of the Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes containing digitized works that span different literary genres. Includes Spanish and Latin American novels, plays, poetry and literary criticism.

A database of Spanish-language plays in different periods and countries, as well as information about their authors, sample translations into English, and synopses.

Catalog of documentaries and independent films from and about Latin America. Contains information on directors and other resources, including study guides on individual films.

A useful bibliography of reference resources, books, journal articles, and films from the UC Berkeley Libraries.

News and Editorials

Weekly podcast from the Spanish chapter of Amnesty International. Short podcasts in Spanish, with a transcript, on global news and human rights.

The oldest Hispanic civil rights organization in the United States (since 1929), working to advance and address the economic condition, educational attainment, political influence and civil rights of the Hispanic population.

News and reports from the Center for International Policy.