Streaming Video: News & Newsreels
Alexander Street Press
 |
World Newsreels Online, 1929-66 World Newsreels Online, 1929-66, is a collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection is semantically indexed, allowing users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places |
TV News Online
- ABC News Video - Clips and news segments from ABC News programs, including 20/20, Nightline, and others
- CNN Video - Live video feeds, clips, and segments from CNN news and shows, including Larry King Live, Anderson Cooper 360, and others
- C-SPAN - Live video feeds, clips, and segments of the proceedings, testimony, and speeches conferences of the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of government.
- CBS News Video - Segments and clips from CBS News programs, including 60 Minutes, 48 Hours, and others.
- Democracy Now! A daily TV/radio news program, hosted by Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez, airing on over 900 stations, pioneering the largest community media collaboration in the United States.
- FOX News Video - Clips and segments from various FOX News programs.
- MSNBC News Videos - Clips and segments from various MSNBC News programs.
- Reuters - Clips and segments from Reuters.
PBS News Shows
- Bill Moyers JournalFull episodes of a show hosted by Bill Moyers that investigates topics and issues that are shaping our country.
- FRONTLINEOver 80 full episodes of the PBS news documentary program that often explores complex and controversial topics.
- FRONTLINE/WORLDFull episodes of this companion to FRONTLINE features first person "short stories" from journalists around the world.
- NOWFull episodes of a news program with documentary news segments and interviews that examine important social, political, and economic issues.
- PBS News HourFull episodes ans clips from the PBS nightly news program.
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The collection spans the presidential administrations of Lyndon Baines Johnson, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama. The core collection includes evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004). Special news broadcasts found in the Archive include political conventions, presidential speeches and press conferences, Watergate hearings, coverage of the Persian Gulf War, the events of September 11, 2001, the War in Afghanistan, and the War in Iraq.
The Internet Archive: News and Public Affairs
- News & Public AffairsAn analysis of news and public affairs independent from traditional corporate media is available from this diverse video library. From Democracy Now's daily news program, to three days of TV news coverage following the 911 attacks, to Mosaic’s timely clips of Middle East newscasts, to UCSF's Tobacco Industry Videos: These collections offer an alternative way to view and interpret current news and public affairs.
- Universal News ReelsIn the pre-TV era, people saw the news every week in their neighborhood movie theaters. Newsreels were shown before every feature film and in dedicated newsreel theaters located in large cities. Universal Newsreel, produced from 1929 to 1967, was released twice a week. Each issue contained six or seven short stories, usually one to two minutes in length, covering world events, politics, sports, fashion, and whatever else might entertain the movie audience. These newsreels offer a fascinating and unique view of an era when motion pictures defined our culture and were a primary source of visual news reporting.
Universal City Studios gifted Universal Newsreel to the American people, put the newsreels into the public domain, and gave film materials to the National Archives in 1976. Surviving materials from the entire collection are available at the National Archives and Records Administration in College Park, Maryland.
Streaming World TV
Livestation brings together live news channels from around the world.
Featured Collection: Understanding 9/11
Understanding 9/11 contains over 3,000 hours of news coverage of the events of 9/11/2001 and their aftermath as presented by U.S. and international broadcasters.
