BHLTH 497B: Health Care Reform and the Future of Nursing: Finding Articles

• All of the journal titles listed on this page are indexed in PubMed (Publicly accessible - but some full text is UW/CCC Restricted). Search tips for this database and Tutorials are available. Search example: health care reform policy united states 2010 implementation
  
• All, but three journals, are indexed and search in CINAHL UW/CCC Restricted, but PubMed has better date coverage. (How-to Guide.)
• Full text holdings are linked through the databases, such as PubMed, and by journal title in the UW Libraries Search system, if available.
  

Recommended Health Policy Journals (from the 2008 Journal Citation Reports* Social Science Edition, from the Web of Science database)

• Health Affairs 
• Milbank Quarterly
• Medical Care Research and Review
• Health Expectations  
• Journal of Health Economics 
• Health Economics 
• Health Policy and Planning 
• Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law 
• Health Policy (Netherlands) 
• Journal of Public Health Policy 
• Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved 
• Health Care Financing Review  (not indexed CINAHL)
  
• Health Care Analysis
• Inquiry (a journal of medical care organization, provision and financing)

More journals

• Aids Care
• American Journal of Public Health
• Health Services Research
• International Journal of Health Services
• Journal of Mental Health Policy and Economics
• Journal of the American Medical Association
• Lancet
• Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
• New England Journal of Medicine
• Psychology, Public Policy, and Law  (not indexed CINAHL)
  
• Social Work in Public Health   (not indexed CINAHL)

*Journal Citation Reports Social Science Edition allows one to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 1,700 in the social sciences. Used for showing the:

• Most frequently cited journals in a field
• Highest impact journals in a field
• Largest journals in a field

Citation and article counts are important indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals. By tabulating and aggregating citation and article counts, JCR offers a unique perspective for journal evaluation and comparison.

Several of these journals are listed on the Kaiser Family Foundation Journal Browser Page

An alphabetical list of full-text electronic journals available through the UW Libraries. This list is provided and maintained by the UW Health Sciences Libraries.

Browse e-journal title: 0-A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | Ja-Jn | Jo-Jz | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W-Z

Can't find your journal? It might be available in print. Search for the journal title in the UW Libraries Search. Questions? Contact Us.

Use the database links below to find citations and sometimes the full text of articles (scroll down to see the bulleted list).

Connecting to UW-restricted databases from home: As a UW student, you have access to all the "UW restricted" databases. Click on the database name below, and when you are not on campus, you should be prompted to login with you UW NetID and password. If this does not work, try clicking on the "Off-Campus Access" button which appears in the upper right corner of this page, logging in, and then clicking on the database link.

Remember, if you can't find the full text of an article to check the UW Libraries Search for online and print listings. If the material is only available at the Seattle or Tacoma libraries, you can order a copy of the article using our Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Services.

*All of the databases that start with an *asterisk* below are EbscoHost databases, and look similar to CINAHL. They can be searched all at once by going into one of them, and then clicking on the "Choose Databases" link above the search boxes. Then select the names that you want to search in, such as Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, EconLit, ERIC, PscyArticles, and PsycInfo.