BHLTH 497B: Health Care Reform and the Future of Nursing: Statistics: International, Federal and State

International Statistics

• Statistical Insight from Lexis Nexis - UW restricted
• World Health Organization Statistics

National Statistics

• Data, Tools and Statistics from the National Library of Medicine: Health Services Research & Public Health Information Programs page. This page lists many links to national, state and international data, tools and statistics.
• Centers for Disease Control Prevention. This site is rich with data including the following:
  • National Center for Health Statistics: Fast Stats A-Z, Health Data Interactive, National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), and the Surveys and Data Collection Systems. 
  • Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR): To search this resource, use the search box in the upper-right hand corner of the MMWR page. Also, you can search for this title in the UW Libraries Search system.
    
  • Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System yearly telephone survey since 1984.
    
  • The CDC Wonder database of public health data provides reports and numeric data.
• National Institutes of Health statistical information on health and disease topics: Cancer, Complementary and Alternative Medicine, Deafness and Other Communication Disorders, Dental Health, Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, Drug Abuse, Eye, and Mental Health.
• Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) site includes: Data, Statistics and Tools, Research Tools and Data, Specific Populations and more.  AHRQ is the health services research arm of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
• Health Data Tools and Statistics - this site is a collaboration of US government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries. Includes sections on Health Statistics, Public Health Data Sets and Public Health Infrastructure Data.
• Health Statistics from Medline Plus. A service of the NLM and the NIH.
• American Public Health Association publishes the American Journal of Public Health. You can search for this title in the UW Libraries Search system and the publication web page.  

US Census Web Sites

• American FactFinder from the Dept. of the US Census. Includes the American Community Survey. Includes Age distribution; Sex ratio; Racial/ethnic characteristics; Occupation, income, education; Per capita income; Mean family income; Percentage at poverty level; Percentage receiving public assistance; Unemployment rate; Occupational categories; Percentage of population over 25 completed high school; ant the Percentage completed college age.
• FedStats - Federal Government statistics locator. Links to 70+ US Government agencies that produce statistics of interest to the public. Site maintained by Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy. Subjects are listed alphabetically or can be searched individually to find relevant statistics.
  It is not always obvious which agency of the government produces statistics, for their responsibilities sometimes overlap.

Washington State Statistics

• Access Washington Official Washington State government portal web site. This site is searchable.
• State of Washington Data Book - (Also available in our print reference collection on 1st floor of library Call No: HA 694 A6)
• Vital Statistics Data from the Washington State Department of Health that has the Health of Washington State and other data reports including vital statistics. Mostly county and some city data.
• Washington State Health Statistics This is a great collection of links from the UW Health Sciences Library.
• King County and the Public Health web sites. Public Health Data, Publications and Reports page. Also see the Health services provided by King County government page.
  
• Skagit County and the Public Health web sites. Public Health Topics A-Z and Programs and Services Guide pages.
  
• Snohomish County Home Page and the Health District web sites. Health Statistics page.
  

More Statistics Guides + Web Searching

• Data Resources and Health Statistics Sources: Health Sciences from the UW Health Sciences Library
• Statistics Guide from the Bothell Campus Library
• Google for searching the web