e-Video: Free Internet Collections

Recognizing the importance of streaming videos to the curriculum, the Bothell Campus Library contributes to a growing collection of streaming titles available from the UW Libraries.

Feature Films, Documentaries and more

American Memory Collection
Several hundred early motion pictures are viewable in the Library of Congress' American Memory collections.
Annenberg Media
Programs intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home on a wide range of topics. All Annenberg Media videos exemplify excellent teaching.
BFI Film Channel
Hundreds of free films on Youtube from the British Film Institute's National Archive.
British Pathe
Films and still photographs from the entire archive of 90,000 videos covering newsreel, sports footage, social history documentaries, entertainment and music stories from 1896 to 1976.
Chamber Dance Company
Watch modern dance classics performed by UW's own Chamber Dance Company on their YouTube channel. For more information about the Chamber Dance Dance Company, visit this guide.
Cinevault
Full length films from all eras including documentaries, drama, early cinema, science fiction, war films, and Westerns. Films are either in the public domain or under license to Cinevault.
Europa Film Treasures
Historic films from 15 European countries, including the archives of the British Film Institute, Filmoteca Española, Cineteca di Bologna, La Cinémathèque Française, and Filmarchiv Austria.
FORA.tv
Lectures, discussions, and debates on the world's political, social and cultural issues; the video forum also provides tools for self-expression and a place for the interactive community to gather online.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, open access, online journal devoted to the publication of biological research in a video format.
Library Of Congress's YouTube Channel
Treasures and contemporary presentations from the Library of Congress in Washington, DC, posted on YouTube.
Moving Image Archive
A collection thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
National Film Board of Canada
Hundreds of the NFB's documentaries, animations, and other films are available in full from their website.
National Film Board of Canada: Capturing Reality
A large interactive website of clips of interviews with filmmakers about the art, ethics, and craft of making documentary films.
SnagFilms
A growing collection of thousands of full-length documentaries on wide variety of subjects.
TED: Technology, Education, Design
A site that makes the best of the presentations and performance from the TED conferences and its partners; the talks cover a wide a range of topics.
The Open Video Project
A collection of thousands of digitized videos from varous governmental, educational, and non-profit institutions.
Top Documentary Films
"You can find thousands of stunning, eye-opening and interesting documentaries" - Top Documentary Films
UbuWeb Film & Video
Hundreds of avant-garde films & videos available for viewing online.
Wolfgang’s Vault
A large collection of audio and video recordings of live musical performances of many famous musicians.
Folkstreams.net
Folkstreams.net is an online preserve of hard-to-find documentary films about American folk or roots cultures.
Openculture.com
An index of 700 movies to watch for free online.

The Internet Archive

Thousands of films and videos are free for the viewing in the Internet Archive's Moving Image Archive. Collections include...

Animation & Cartoons
Whether you want to watch classic cartoons from a bygone era, Brick Films made with your favorite building toys, Machinima patched together from video games, or the artful computer animations selected for the 2001 SIGGRAPH competition, this library of free animated films and movies has something to keep you entertained
Art & Music
This library of arts and music videos features This or That (a burlesque game show), the Coffee House TV arts program, punk bands from Punkcast and live performances from Groove TV.
Community Video
You are invited to view or upload your videos to the Community collection. These thousands of videos were contributed by Archive users and community members. .
Computers & Technology
Featuring two television programs popular in the 1980's and 1990's: Computer Chronicles and Net Café, this library showcases videos about computing and technology. Collection topics include BBS, the Open Source movement, and Internet governance.
Cultural & Academic
This library of academic and cultural films features collections from the Academic Film Archive and the Media Burn Independent Film Archive.
Ephemeral Films
Ephemeral films are non-fiction films usually made for educational, industrial, or promotional purposes. Included here are the Prelinger Archives.
Movies
Watch full-length feature films, classic shorts, world culture documentaries, World War II propaganda, movie trailers, and films created in just ten hours: These options are all featured in this diverse library.
News & Public Affairs
An analysis of news and public affairs independent from traditional corporate media is available from this diverse video library. From Democracy Now's daily news program, to three days of TV news coverage following the 911 attacks, to Mosaic’s timely clips of Middle East newscasts, to UCSF's Tobacco Industry Videos: These collections offer an alternative way to view and interpret current news and public affairs.
Spirituality & Religion
View videos about spirituality and religion.
Sports
From soccer to sailing, to rock climbing, cheerleading, and underwater hockey: You are invited to watch or download free sports videos contributed by Archive users.
Television
Collections of items recorded from television, including commercials, old television shows, government proceedings, and more.
Video Game Videos
Vlogs
More serious (or at least prolific) vloggers are showcased in this video library. You may learn how to be happy, geocache, run, or play boardgames by keeping up with these vloggers’ videos. In addition you may be amused by Betty Butterfield, entertained by The In Crowd, or keep up with happenings in Boston with Drive Time.
Youth Media
Videos created by (or which are about) teens and young adults are featured in the Youth Media collection.
MosFilms Online
Mosfilm is the oldest film studio in Russia and includes works by Eisenstein.