Skip to main content
E-Resource Starting Points
Free e-resources are a growing part of many library collections. Please find below a small selection of primary e-sources (e.g., collections of folktales, legends etc.), websites (e.g. resources available via the Smithsonian Institution), and other digital tools to get you started as you pursue your research. We have separated out e-journals for ease of access.
Free search engine indexing full text of scholarly literature across disciplines. Includes most peer-reviewed online journals.
Offers a collection of millions of titles digitized around the world.
Other Web Pages
American Folklife Center
Web portal to connect users to one of the largest archives of ethnographic materials. Includes online collections, finding aids, catalog of early field recordings, published recordings, and educational resources.
Ashliman’s Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
Extensive collection of tales, myths, and legends from around the word, classified according to Aarne-Thompson-Uther.
Documenting the American South
Contains primary resources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture, catalogued according to the Library of Congress Subject headings.
Folkstreams: A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Root Culture
A designated national preserve offering 75+ documentaries on broader subjects ranging from African American Culture, Customs, Festival, to Urban Life, and Women. The films are copyright protected; users may stream films at home.
Internet Public Library Folklore Pathfinder
American Folklife Resources. Provides an overview of Folklife, lists printed and network resources, as well as teaching resources, online exhibits, and genres.
Masters of Traditional Arts Education Guide
Highlights the works of National Heritage Fellows through biography, photos, voice, and music. Also includes tools for learning, suggestions from teachers and librarians for activities and mini-lessons.
Open Folklore, including the American Folklore Society Ethnographic Thesaurus
In partnership with the American Folklore Society and Indiana University, Open Folklore makes books, journals, gray literature and a web archives available.
Smithsonian Folkways is a nonprofit record label. This website disseminated audio recordings and educational materials, with a focus on cultural heritage.
The Traditional Ballad Index
Searchable via keyword and title, the Traditional Ballad Index also functions as an annotated bibliography of Folk Songs of the English Speaking World.
The Weaver Girl and the Cowherd
The romantic legend of two lovers, Zhinu and Niulang, inspired the tale of The Weaver Girl and the Cowherd, which has been celebrated in China with the Qixi Festival for nearly two millenia.