Library Guides: SOC W 500: Home

Welcome

This Guide was especially designed for the SOCW 500 class. Feel free to use the resources linked here for your research projects. For additional resources related to Social Work check out the Social Work Toolkit. Please contact me if you would like to consult on topics, search strategies, citation management tools, etc.

Media Resources

Trying to find a recent media article or podcast that explicitly links historic and contemporary exclusionary policies/practices or work for social justice? You can look into these resources:

Biography Resources

Oxford Bibliographies: Social Work
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone of reference in its field. This new edition includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.

The Encyclopedia contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. Clearly arranged in A-Z format, each article is fully cross-referenced and includes a select bibliography to guide interested readers to primary sources and the most important scholarly works on a given subject
History of Social Work
This site is put together by professors in Europe, and provides an interesting timeline of social welfare activists.
NASW Foundation: Social Work Pioneer Program
Social Welfare History Project
Virginia Commonwealth University Libraries' site pulls together historical materials with the goal of better informing the public about the history of American social welfare.
Women and Social Movements International: 1840 to Present
UW resource: Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. The archive includes proceedings of women's international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, as well as correspondence, diary entries, and memoirs. Also contains numerous online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations and also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women's international social movements.
Women and Social Movements in the U.S.
UW resource: This currently includes 102 document projects and archives with more than 4,050 documents, and 145,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by some 2,200 primary authors. It includes book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

A new feature Sept 2018: The Online Biographical Dictionary of the Woman Suffrage Movement in the United States is currently under development, its first installment to appear in September 2018. It will include crowdsourced biographical sketches and writings of more than 3,000 women suffrage activists, primarily concentrated in the period 1890-1920. We are aiming for an inclusive collection, including white and black suffragists, mainstream and militant suffragists. The sketches will place women’s suffrage activism within the frame of women’s broader social agenda, before and after the passage of the 19th Amendment in August 1920.
New York Times: Obituaries Overlooked
Primary Sources in African American history
Theresa Mudrock, UW History Librarian, created this pathfinder. You can find this and others on her History Research Guide.
Primary Sources in Native American History
Primary Sources: History: Women

Social Justice Glossary and Genealogy of Terms

Critical Annotated Bibliography

There are several sources on how to write a Critical Annotated Bibliography.

A good general one is the Purdue Online Writing Lab. However, the example there is for a more general annotation. A better summary of a Critical Annotated Bibliography is here. In your assignment, you should cover the following:

1. A brief bio of the author, including which institution they are associated with.

2. How was the book or scholarly article received? Look for reviews and summarize them. This is important to give context to the material. How many times has the article been cited? Where? (You can find where they were cited in Web of Science, Scopus or Google Scholar)

3. Explain in a paragraph or two how this particular resource addresses your research, answers your research question and/or informs you on the topic.