- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- Tacoma
- TWRT 387 Creative Nonfiction Writing - Multiple Instructors
- Background and lifecycle information
TWRT 387 Creative Nonfiction Writing - Multiple Instructors: Background and lifecycle information
Encyclopedias
If you're looking for some alternatives to Wikipedia, try searching for information in these collections of reference books. You'll be able to check facts and learn context for any number of topics.
- Gale Virtual Reference
This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of encyclopedias and other references sources.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports, summaries, and pro/con views on a range of current issues,1923-present.
Websites
- "How StuffWorks" by Discovery CompanyIn-depth and current articles that dissect the inner workings of objects. While the articles do not explain the manufacturing process, they break down the item's components that can then be individually researched for their manufacturing means and impact on the environment.
E-Books
How Products Are MadeHow Products Are Made explains and details the manufacturing process of a wide variety of products, from daily household items to complicated electronic equipment and heavy machinery.
Handbook of Manufacturing Processes [e-book] by An in-depth compilation of the workings of more than 1500 different manufacturing processes in metalworking, chemicals, textiles, plastics, ceramics, electronics, wood and food industries; as well as how more than 600 important products, components, materials are made. This work describes the operations performed in the worlds factories.
Starting Points: Dictionaries
Oxford English Dictionary- This link opens in a new window
Much more than a dictionary, the OED contains the meaning and history of over 600,000 words.
