Research Guides
HSTCMP 247: Before Global Health: Background Sources
Why Use Background Sources?
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings. Both print and online encyclopedias are listed below.
Encyclopedia collections: Oxford Research Encyclopedias, Gale Ebooks & Oxford Reference Online.
Encyclopedias: quick info
- Cambridge historical dictionary of disease
This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopaedia of the history of science, technology, and medicine in non-western cultures
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Global Health
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Pestilence, Pandemics, and Plagues
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Black Death
- This link opens in a new window
- Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
- This link opens in a new window
- Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
- This link opens in a new window
- Infectious Diseases: In Context
- This link opens in a new window
- International Encyclopedia of Public Health
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology
- This link opens in a new window
More in-depth context
- Cambridge world history of human disease
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Medical Anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of medical anthropology: health and illness in the world's cultures
- This link opens in a new window
- History of medicine a very short introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of the History of Medicine
- This link opens in a new window