Skip to Main Content
All UW Libraries are CLOSED but online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Agriculture and nutrition
Information for International Agricultural Research (AGRIS)
From the UN Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO). Search archives and databases covering agriculture, forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences & fisheries, and human nutrition. A good resource for finding unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, and government publications.
International Food Policy Research Institute
Washington DC-based research center for agriculture and development. Look under Publications and Research for articles, datasets, impact evaluations and more. Browse by country or topic.
IMF eLibrary Data
Government finance, trade, and balance of payments data from the International Monetary Fund.
Search tool for finding working papers in economics available on the Web.
International Center for Research on Women
Peer-reviewed research and reports from a global research institute based in Washington, DC. This site can be difficult to navigate, but useful topic and publication type filters are provided.
MSU Center for Gender in Global Context
Publications include the large collection of Gendered Perspectives on International Development (GPID) Working Papers, “scholarly work on global social, political, and economic change and its gendered effects in developing nations.” Difficult to browse, but may be worthwhile for those researching specific topics in gender and development.
Global health and demography
Global Index Medicus
International index to health literature developed by the World Health Organization. Includes regional indices for Africa, Eastern Mediterranean, Europe, Southeast Asia, and Western Pacific.
Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program
Data and data analysis tools for population, health, HIV and nutrition information from surveys conducted in over 90 countries.
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx)
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation's (IHME) catalog of the world's health and demographic data. Research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health.
Want more? Try the UW Health Sciences Library's Global Health Toolkit.
GSDRC: Governance and Social Development Resource Center
Funded by UKaid, provides publications - including topic overviews and text/video learning packs - and links to outside academic and grey literature on governance and social development. Now also includes humanitarian research.
Quality of Government Insitute
Data and publications on good governance and corruption worldwide, from institute based at the University of Gothenburg, Sweden.
Berlin-based NGO publishes the Corruption Perceptions Index, country reports on corruption, and more.
Law and human rights
Human Rights Documents
Wide variety of documents from hundreds of non-governmental organizations concerned with human rights and social justice around the world.
Human Rights Studies Online
Comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010.
Want more? Try the Human Rights Research Guide.
Forced Migration Online
Collection of resources related to refugees and forced migration, including full-text documents and links to relevant journals.
Migration Policy Institute
Think tank on migration and refugee issues, US-centric but with a global scope. Includes briefs, reports and fact sheets.
Want more? Try the Migration and Refugees page of the INGO/NGO Research Guide.