THIST 101 Introduction to History Methods - Sundermann: Tertiary Sources
What is a tertiary source?
A tertiary source gives a brief "bird's eye view" overview of a historic event, person, place, or movement. These are often written by scholars and can range from a few sentences to a page in length. They are helpful for:
- Getting a basic understanding of a topic
- Exploring a topic and discovering more specific directions you might go in
- Understanding the timeline and context of an event or movement
Tertiary sources include:
- Encyclopedias
- Dictionaries
Online Resources for All Subjects
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
World War II Encyclopedias
World War II : the definitive encyclopedia and document collection by ISBN: 9781851099696Publication Date: 2016-09-06With more than 1,700 cross-referenced entries covering every aspect of World War II, the events and developments of the era, and myriad related subjects as well as a documents volume, this is the most comprehensive reference work available on the war.
The Oxford Companion to World War II by ISBN: 9780198604464Publication Date: 2002-01-24'The Oxford Companion to the Second World War, by virtue of its scale, its range and its scholarship, is an outstanding guide, as sensible and cogent on the big questions as it is instructive and informed on the lesser ones.'
The Pacific War Encyclopedia by ISBN: 9780816034390Publication Date: 1998-06-01Providing a reference on training for all those involved in the food supply chain, this volume shows staff training to be an essential prerequisite to food safety, and therefore crucial to the success of a food company. Food safety and quality management systems are only as good as the people who develop and implement them and the difference between successful and unsuccessful companies often relates to training and behaviour control.
The Columbia Guide to the Holocaust by ISBN: 9780231112017Publication Date: 2003-09-03Offering a multidimensional approach to one of the most important episodes of the twentieth century, The Columbia Guide to the Holocaust offers readers and researchers a general history of the Holocaust while delving into the core issues and debates in the study of the Holocaust today.
