Skip to main content

International Human Rights Research

African

African Treaty Compilations

Monitoring Mechanisms

Mechanism Online Source for Cases/Decisions/Documents Additional Sources
African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights

Can find both contentious matters (pending and finalized) and advisory proceedings on the Court’s website

Institute for Human Rights and Development in Africa (IHRDA) Case Law Analyzer.

WorldCourts

African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

You can search all documents from the Commission (including state reports, concluding observations, activity reports, etc.) through its website here or can search by state here.

Can find decisions on communications on the Commission’s website.

The Commission has also issued four General Comments, which can be found here.

Institute for Human Rights and Development in Africa (IHRDA) Case Law Analyzer.

WorldCourts

The African Human Rights Reports - English editions available online from 2000 - 2011.

Special mechanisms of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights Reports from the special mechanisms are available on the Commission's website.  

Other Resources

European

European Treaty Compilations

Treaty Commentaries

Treaty commentaries are a useful resource for finding analysis of each article of a human rights treaty. One way to find treaty commentaries is to search the library catalog for the name of the treaty (or associated keywords) plus the word "commentary." A few relevant European treaty commentaries are listed below:

Monitoring Mechanisms

Body Online Source for Cases/Decisions/Documents Additional Sources
European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) Judgments and Decisions (HUDOC Database). Summaries of cases considered to be of particular interest are included in a monthly publication called the Case-law Information Note, which is available online or in print in the library (print collection through 2008 only).

Westlaw (Icon) - European Human Rights Reports (1979 - current).

Department of Execution of Judgments of the ECHR All documents from the Department of Execution are available through the HUDOC EXEC Database. Summaries of final resolutions and reforms adopted (by year) are available here. N/A
Commissioner for Human Rights Documents related to country monitoring are available through the Commissioner's website's search by country feature. N/A

You can also find compilations of cases by subject, country, or Convention article using the following resources from the European Court of Human Rights:

  • Country Profiles
  • Case law and pending cases by theme
  • Case law analysis guides - "presents the Court's major judgments, organised by Convention article."
  • Case law research reports
  • Country Factsheets - Provide information on "judgments and decisions of the European Court in cases pending before the Committee of Ministers for supervision of their execution with links to available information on the status of execution. The factsheets also provide, in a nutshell, information on the reforms adopted in cases where supervision has been closed. Execution trends over the last six years are illustrated by key statistical data."
  • Human Rights Handbooks - "The handbooks are intended as a very practical guide to how articles of the European Convention on Human Rights have been applied and interpreted by the European Court of Human Rights."

The Department for the Execution of Judgments of the ECHR publish Country Factsheets which "present an overview of the main issues revealed by judgments and decisions of the European Court in cases pending before the Committee of Ministers for supervision of their execution."

Inter-American

Regional Treaty Compilations

Treaty Commentaries

Monitoring Mechanisms

Mechanism Online Source for Cases/Decisions/Documents Additional Sources
Inter-American Court of Human Rights Jurisprudence from the Inter-American Court can be searched from the court's website.

database of documents from the Inter-American Court and Inter-American Commission is available from the Center for Justice and International Law.

University of Minnesota's Human Rights Library - Inter-American Court of Human Rights search.

Loyola Law School's IACHR database

WorldCourts

Inter-American Commission on Human Rights Reports on cases from the Commission are available on its website as are the Commission's Annual Reports. You can also find country reports and thematic reports.

database of documents from the Inter-American Court and Inter-American Commission is available from the Center for Justice and International Law.

WorldCourts

Rapporteurships and Units of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights Information about hearings, reports, initiatives, decisions and more related to each thematic rapporteurship or unit is available by clicking through to the rapporteurship/unit's website.  

Other Resources