TCORE 103 A - Velasquez: Background Research
Header
Reference databases
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas
- CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Excellent overviews of domestic social and public policy issues. - Congressional Research Service reportsNonpartisan, timely analysis of important policy issues, but Congress' "think tank" at the Library of Congress.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in political science, Atlantic history, and more.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Introductions to topics and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study. - Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authoritative summaries on a wide range of social science topics - Elgaronline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books in law, economics, and social and political sciences, including reference works and handbooks.
- Annual Review of Political Science
- This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews on topics in political theory, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration, and methodology. - BallotpediaEncyclopedia of local, state and federal politics.
- SAGE Research Methods Online (SRM) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks, videos, and other materials on research methods in the social and behavioral sciences.
Data portals
- Harvard DataverseRepository of research data
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)Archive of social science datasets.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social-science data and statistics from a variety of sources. - ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to governmental and private statistical data.
- Govinfo.gov bulk data repositorySelect U.S. federal documents available in XML.
- Google Dataset SearchFind datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web.
- Data is PluralSpreadsheet of a wide range of datasets for social research.
- Qualitative Data RepositoryArchive of qualitative and multi-method data in the social sciences.
Country information sources
- Europa World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Country profiles, including geographic, economic, and political information - EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports on politics, economics and market-moving topics including macroeconomic data for nearly 200 countries.
- World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global development data
- CIA World FactbookMaps, background, and statistics by country
- State Department Country InformationIncludes Background Notes, Library of Congress Country Studies, and more
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business oriented country reports, such as the Political Risk Yearbook, Background Notes, and Economic Competitiveness