BNURS 460C: Translating Scholarly Knowledge to Nursing Practice (Iyer) [and Fall 2020 360C: Critical Reading & Information Literacy (Wade)]: Library Workshop, wk 3 (360)

• The PowerPoint slides used on Oct. 19: Library Services & Librarian Introduction - PowerPoint Slides (PDF)

The web resources to be used for your class assignment are linked below.

Today you will work to locate sources on a specific topic for your Literature Search Workshop, Annotated Bibliography, and Literature Review Matrix assignments.

1. Advice for Autumn Quarter 2020:

• Use our chat service for questions.
• Immediately available online resources (articles, public web sources, databases, e-videos, e-journals, e-books, etc.) are your best bet in support of your assignments, since the library buildings are closed. 
• Curbside Pickup Program from UW Bothell Campus Library. The fall quarter curbside pickup hours are on Mondays from 3pm - 6pm, and Thursdays from 12pm - 3pm. 
• Online Learning Support -- How to Access Library Resources
  • For Students page
• Laptop and WiFi Hotspot Lending Program from UWB IT
• Covid-19 Updates page lists what services are available. 

2. Intro to the New Nursing Students Orientation Guide and handout.

• 2020-21 Orientation Guide handout in docx and pdf formats

3. Future assignments (Julie's summary):

• Course Research Topic:  "How does social media use impact both individual wellbeing and our society?" 

  "What I'll suggest is that each of you create your own informal research/PICO based on that overarching question about social media that focuses in on a specific aspect.  For example, you could focus in on the cognitive impact of social media on children, the implications of social media use for bullying, the way that social media influences healthcare usage, how patients engage with health information they encounter on social media, how social networks can be used for health communication and promotion, the way that social media can be used in adult teaching, the impact of social media on social divisiveness, and so on."

• PICO question assignment
• (In future - literature review assignment)

Are we clear on the types of resources you need to start looking for? What questions do you/we have? 

(Optional) Please see the instructions below both the CINAHL and PubMed areas for how to limit to various types of research articles

4. Questions/comments about the Canvas assignment for "Interlibrary Loan Account Setup" homework? Any questions about the UW Libraries Interlibrary Loan services? Suggestions for improvements to this assignment?

5. Questions/comments about the CINAHL Quiz in Canvas, titled "Searching CINAHL - Scholarly Resources & Full Text"? What questions do you have about CINAHL?

• CINAHL - UW Restricted. How-to Guides from the UWB Campus Library (pdf), tutorials, and the UW HSL CINAHL Help Guide
• (Optional) Julie will search for medication errors and long term care (or something else) and discuss as a large group the search results. Look at the article title, date, journal name, publication type, abstracts, and subjects to see if relevant to topic. We will skim to try to locate more search words to revise your search to get different results in CINAHL.

Optional CINAHL Limits and Search Strategies:

• Publication Type – Limit results to source types such as Clinical Trial, Evidence-Based Care Sheet, Interview, Meta Analysis, Meta Synthesis, Nursing Diagnoses, Nursing Interventions, Randomized Controlled Trial, Research, Review, Statistics, Systematic Review, or Tables/Charts. Scroll down in the box to see the full list of types. You can select multiple items either by holding down the control key (Ctrl) on a PC, or the Apple button on a Mac computer.
• Clinical Queries – (What are they? Search strategies used, Help Sheet.doc) – Can limit to Therapy, Prognosis, Review, Qualitative, and Causation (Etiology). See the Help Sheet for definitions of High Sensitivity, High Specificity, and Best Balance.
• Quantitative article types:  Clinical Trial, Randomized Controlled Trial
• Qualitative article types:  Meta Synthesis, Qualitative (in Clinical Queries)
• Review article types:  Meta Analysis, Review, Systematic Review
• If needed, you can type the word qualitative or quantitative in your search. (Optional UW HSL guide for "Finding Qualitative Research Articles")
  • native americans and diabetes and qualitative
  • aged and female and chronic pain and quantitative
     
  • Can also add the CINAHL Heading of "Qualitative Studies" to your search.

6. Questions/comments about the PubMed Quiz in Canvas, titled "Searching PubMed (MedLine) for Research Articles What questions do you have about PubMed?

• PubMed - Publicly accessible, but some full text is UW restricted. Search for medicine, health, and nursing article citations. The National Library of Medicine's search service to over 30 million citations in Medline and related databases. (UW Health Sciences Library How-to Guide.) (PubMed Tutorials and Quick Tours.) (MeSH On Demand tool.)
• (Optional) Julie will search for medication errors long term care (or something else) and discuss as a large group the search results.

Optional PubMed Filters and Search Strategies:

• Filter by Article Types: After you have completed a search, you can filter by a variety of article types including the sample below, and then and click on the "Show" button. (Ask your professor which article types are acceptable to use.)
  • Quantitative article types:  Clinical Trial, Controlled Clinical Trial, Multicenter Study, Pragmatic Clinical Trial, Randomized Controlled Trial, and Validation Study
  • Review article types:  Meta-Analysis, Review, and Systematic Review
• If needed, you type the word qualitative or quantitative in your search. (Optional UW HSL guide for "Finding Qualitative Research Articles")
  • native americans diabetes qualitative
  • aged female chronic pain quantitative
• Search for qualitative articles with MeSH Terms, by adding them to your search words. (List online.)
  • "Qualitative Research"
  • "Interviews as Topic"
  • "Focus Groups"
  • "Nursing Methodology Research

7. APA Citing, UW Libraries Search, and Evaluating Sources Pages:

• UWB Writing & Communication Center: APA Formatting guide, and the Campus Library APA Style Guides for citing sources.
• Use the UW Libraries Search to locate full text articles online and print formats. Books, journals, films and other formats of resources are also available. Some items are UW Restricted. (UW Libraries Search Help Guide.) Directions to use the catalog to locate an article.
• Video Tutorial: What is a scholarly journal article? The Evaluating Sources Guide from the Bothell Campus Library
• "How You Should Read Coronavirus Studies, or Any Science Paper" (6/2/2020, NY Times article, by Carl Zimmer). Published scientific research, like any piece of writing, is a peculiar literary genre.

8. (Optional) Mining Citations -- Small Group Activity:

1. Tutorial page for Mining CINAHL Results for New Search Words/Phrases.
2. As you search think about what trends you see about your topic in the literature.
3. Mine the article titles, abstracts, and subject headings for new words to help you refine your search results.
4. Also, use the words to create new search phrases to see what else is available on your topic.