The web resources to be used for your class assignment are linked below. Please don't print these out in advance of the workshop, as Julie will provide copies in class.
Today you will work to locate sources on a specific topic for your critiquing literature assignment.
1. Intro to the New Nursing Students Orientation Guide and handout.
- 2019-20 Orientation Guide handout in docx and pdf formats
2. Review the assignment (in Canvas):
- Find two unique articles (i.e., nobody else in your group is reviewing the same articles) that will be useful to your group's exploration of a topic of interest. They should be research articles which report the findings of original studies. You may use articles you found in the library workshop or you can find new articles that more closely match the research question your group has chosen.
- Read the articles closely and make notes. You'll need to understand them well to write the annotation. If an article turns out to be less useful than you hoped, don't waste your time on it. Find a more useful one instead.
- Write your annotation.
- At the top of the page, reference the article in APA style. This permits you to copy and paste the reference into documents later. You may cite this article several times in your course and program.
- For each of your annotations:
- Summary: What is the study about? What is the purpose of the article or research question? How was the study conducted? What are the findings and conclusions? What is the article trying to accomplish?
- Analysis: Did it fulfill its purpose? What are the strengths and weaknesses of the article? Did scholar(s) make good decisions in carrying out the study?
- Evaluate: How is this article useful to your purposes? What type of information does the article provide and how can you use this information?
- Submit your two individual annotations below, then collect these into an Annotated Bibliography for your entire group.
(Optional) Please see the instructions below both the CINAHL and PubMed areas for how to limit to various types of research articles.
Are we clear on the types of resources you need to start looking for? What questions do you/we have?
3. Questions/comments about the Canvas assignment for "Assignment: Interlibrary Loan Account Setup" homework? Any questions about the UW Libraries Interlibrary Loan services? Suggestions for improvements to this assignment?
Most of you have you finished the CINAHL learning activity/quizz in Canvas. How did this go for you?
4. Questions/comments about the CINAHL Quiz in Canvas, titled "Searching CINAHL: Scholarly Resources & Full Text "? What questions do you have about CINAHL?
- CINAHL - UW Restricted. How-to Guides from the UWB Campus Library (pdf), tutorials, and the UW HSL CINAHL Help Guide
- (Optional) Julie will search for medication errors and long term care (or something else) and discuss as a large group the search results. Look at the article title, date, journal name, publication type, abstracts, and subjects to see if relevant to topic. We will skim to try to locate more search words to revise your search to get different results in CINAHL.
Optional CINAHL Limits and Search Strategies:
- Publication Type – Limit results to source types such as Clinical Trial, Evidence-Based Care Sheet, Interview, Meta Analysis, Meta Synthesis, Nursing Diagnoses, Nursing Interventions, Randomized Controlled Trial, Research, Review, Statistics, Systematic Review, or Tables/Charts. Scroll down in the box to see the full list of types. You can select multiple items either by holding down the control key (Ctrl) on a PC, or the Apple button on a Mac computer.
- Clinical Queries – (What are they? Search strategies used) – Can limit to Therapy, Prognosis, Review, Qualitative, and Causation (Etiology). See the "Application of Clinical Queries – “How to” section on the "What are they?" page for definitions of High Sensitivity, High Specificity, and Best Balance.
- Quantitative article types: Clinical Trial, Randomized Controlled Trial
- Qualitative article types: Meta Synthesis, Qualitative (in Clinical Queries)
- Review article types: Meta Analysis, Review, Systematic Review
- If needed, you can type the word qualitative or quantitative in your search. (Optional UW HSL guide for "Finding Qualitative Research Articles")
- native americans and diabetes and qualitative
- aged and female and chronic pain and quantitative
- Can also add the CINAHL Heading of "Qualitative Studies" to your search.
5. Questions/comments about the PubMed Quiz in Canvas, titled "Searching PubMed (MedLine) for Research Articles"? What questions do you have about PubMed?
Optional PubMed Filters and Search Strategies:
- Filter by Article Types: After you have completed a search, you can filter by a variety of article types including the sample below, and then and click on the "Show" button. (Ask your professor which article types are acceptable to use.)
- Quantitative article types: Clinical Trial, Controlled Clinical Trial, Multicenter Study, Pragmatic Clinical Trial, Randomized Controlled Trial, and Validation Study
- Review article types: Meta-Analysis, Review, and Systematic Review
- If needed, you type the word qualitative or quantitative in your search. (Optional UW HSL guide for "Finding Qualitative Research Articles")
- native americans diabetes qualitative
- aged female chronic pain quantitative
- Search for qualitative articles with MeSH Terms, by adding them to your search words. (List online.)
- "Qualitative Research"
- "Interviews as Topic"
- "Focus Groups"
- "Grounded Theory"
- "Nursing Methodology Research"
6. APA Citing, UW Libraries Search, and Evaluating Sources Pages:
- UWB Writing & Communication Center: APA Formatting guide, the Campus Library APA Style Guides for citing sources, and Julie's APA citation formats page.
- Use the UW Libraries Search to locate full text articles online and print formats. Books, journals, films and other formats of resources are also available. Some items are UW Restricted. (UW Libraries Search Help Guide.) Directions to use the catalog to locate an article.
- Video Tutorial: What is a scholarly journal article? The Evaluating Sources Guide from the Bothell Campus Library
- Is the journal peer-reviewed? Try Ulrichsweb to see. This index does not provide any full-text access, or even abstracts of articles. It is an index of periodical titles (journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters) that are held by libraries all around the world, and provides information about these titles. Use Ulrichsweb to see if a journal as a whole is considered scholarly, and if it's peer reviewed/refereed. Remember that not all articles in a scholarly journal are themselves scholarly - you'll also find book reviews, editorials, reviews of the literature, etc.
7. (Optional) Mining Citations -- Small Group Activity:
- Tutorial page for Mining CINAHL Results for New Search Words/Phrases.
- As you search think about what trends you see about your topic in the literature.
- Mine the article titles, abstracts, and subject headings for new words to help you refine your search results.
- Also, use the words to create new search phrases to see what else is available on your topic.
