Skip to Main Content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
University Libraries
My UW
Calendar
Maps
Directories
Toggle navigation
Home
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
E-Journals
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Evaluating Information
Learn how to choose the best and most reliable information that meets your research needs.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; tools for storing and organizing sources.
Course Reserves
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Research Guides
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Undergraduate Researcher Tutorial
Self-paced online tutorial that introduces students to research skills and UW Libraries resources and services.
more
on research
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Accessibility
We are committed to providing equal access to library collections, services, and facilities for all library users.
Interlibrary Loan & Scanning Services
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
more
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
FAQ
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Open Scholarship Commons
One-stop shop for knowledge creation and dissemination services.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info and tools for scholarly publishing and open-access publishing alternatives.
Subject Librarians
Talk to a librarian with expertise in your subject area for help with your research.
Teaching Support
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
more
help
About
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
Organization At-a-Glance
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Our Blog
News, views and impact stories from the UW Libraries.
Jobs
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Policies
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Strategic Plan
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
more
about the Libraries
Libraries
Art Library
Built Environments Library
Drama Library
Engineering Library
Foster Business Library
Friday Harbor Library
Government Publications, Maps, Microforms & Newspapers
Health Sciences Library
Mathematics Research Library
Music Library
Odegaard Undergraduate Library
Research Commons
Special Collections
Suzzallo and Allen Libraries
Tateuchi East Asia Library
UW Bothell/Cascadia Library
UW Tacoma Library
Ask Us!
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Email
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Consultations
Make an appointment and get specialized help from a librarian.
more
ways to contact us
Research Guides
Task Force Home
Task Force A
Task Force B
Task Force C
Task Force D
Task Force E
Toggle Dropdown
Task Force E readings
Task Force F: Rome
Task Force H
Task Force I
Task Force J
Task Force M: Rome
Task Force N
Toggle Dropdown
Keeping Current: Blogs & Twitter
Source Types
Evaluating Sources
Writing, Citing, & Editing
Librarian materials
Home
Start Your Research
Research Guides
University of Washington Libraries
Library Guides
UW Libraries
JSIS 495: Task Force - Winter 2019
Task Force E readings
JSIS 495: Task Force - Winter 2019: Task Force E readings
Readings for Section E, Task Force 2019
Akça, İsmet , The Army of One
Aydin, Mustafa, Turkey’s endless search for power
Aydıntaşbaş, Asli, The discreet charm of hypocrisy: An EU-Turkey Power
Aydıntaşbaş, Asli, The pastor, the banker, and the irresistible drama in Turkish-US relation
Ayoob, Mohammed, The Khashoggi Murder: How the Turkish-Saudi Rivalry Escalated Over a Premeditated Murder
Cook, Steven A., Turkey’s Cooling Ties with U.S., Israel
Cornell, Svante E., "The Naqshbandi-Khalidi Order and Political Islam in Turkey"
Enzina, Wes, The Rojava Experiment, also called: A Dream of Secular Utopia in ISIS’ Backyard
Erdoğan, Emre , “Dimensions of Polarization in Turkey: Social Distance, Perceived Moral Superiority, and Political Intolerance”
Erdogan's New Sultanate : a Special Report on Turkey, Economist, Feb. 6, 2016
At this point, the article opens without requiring a subscription
Erdogan’s New Sultanate: A Special Report on Turkey, The Economist, February 6, 2016
The article is also available through the UW's subscription to the Economist, but that version does not have the pictures.
European Commission, Key Findings of the 2018 Report on Turkey
Idiz, Semih, Turkish-Arab ties marked by fear and loathing
Kasaba, Resat, "Turkey from the RIse of Ataturk," The New Cambridge HIstory of Islam, vol. 5, 2010, p. 301-335
Kasaba, Resat, "Death of Politics"
Click on the pdf button at the very bottom of the page
Kiniklioglu, Suat, Turkey’s Self-Inflicted Disaster
Kirişci, Kemal and Seçkin Köstem, Don’t let Russian S-400s peel Turkey away from the West
Kirişci, Kemaland Ali Tuygan, S.-Turkey relations under Trump may hinge more on Turkey than on Trump
Lindenstrauss, Gallia, Turkey in the Security Council: Goals and Dilemmas
Lindenstrauss, Gallia, Why Alarm Bells Should be Ringing over U.S. Special Operations Forces in Manbij: Lessons from the 2010 Gaza Flotilla
Middle East Report, no 286, Special Issue: Confronting the New Turkey
Ozkan, Behlul, Turkey’s Imperial Fantasy
Rodrik, Dani, Timur Kuran, “The Economic Costs of Erdogan"
Shapiro, Jeremy, The messengers of karma: Erdoğan, Trump, and their domestic opposition
Sloat, Amanda, "The West's Turkey Conundrum"
Sloat, Amanda, "When strongmen fight: The US and Turkey need diplomats to resolve their leaders’ dispute"
White, Jenny, “The Turkish Complex,” American Interest, Vol X, No. 4, March/April 2015, pp. 14-23
<<
Previous:
Task Force E
Next:
Task Force F: Rome >>