- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- Tacoma
- TCORE 114 - Blair - The Gothic
- Books and Encyclopedias
TCORE 114 - Blair - The Gothic: Books and Encyclopedias
Image
Frontispiece from Frankenstein 1831 - public domain image
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are great place to start building an understanding of a subject. These are sources that are intended to give you an overview of facts related to a subject.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. - Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art reference works, biographies, and encyclopedias, including Grove Art Online and Benezit Dictionary of Artists. - Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas - Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contemporary and 20th century popular culture sources. - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, author biographies, topic overviews, and critical essays.
Selected Books in the UWT Library
Gothic Perspectives on the American Experience by Call Number: PS374.G68 P47 2003ISBN: 9780820457635Publication Date: 2006
The Haunted Muse : gothic and sentiment in American literature by Call Number: PS374.G68 M34 2016ISBN: 9781443889087Publication Date: 2016-05-15
Hollywood Heroines : Women in Film Noir and the Female Gothic Film by Call Number: PN1995.9.F54 H367 2007ISBN: 9781845115623Publication Date: 2008
Hollywood Horror : from gothic to cosmic by
The horror film, which Mark A. Vieira calls the escape valve of the American psyche, is imprinted on popular culture. Hollywood Horror captures all the mystery, power, dark humour and chilling beauty of the genre from its roots in the silent film era to 1968, which, according to Vieira, marks the end of the classic scary movie. aspect of cinematic horror, from seminal icons such as James Whale's Frankenstein and Tod Browning's Dracula to the steamy pre-Code jungle sorcery of The Island of the Lost Souls.
Call Number: PN1995.9.H6 V58 2003ISBN: 0810945355Publication Date: 2003
The Literary Haunted House by
The haunted house of American fiction is an iconic union of setting and theme with an enduring presence in popular culture that traces its lineage to the early English Gothic novels. Blurring the boundaries between past and present, the living and the dead, the haunted house--synonymous with the dark side of domesticity--challenges accepted notions of reality and wields a special power over the reader's imagination. Focusing on the work of H. P. Lovecraft, Richard Matheson and Stephen King, this critical work offers a fresh perspective on one of the most popular motifs in American fiction. Case studies demonstrate how these authors have kept the past alive while highlighting the complexities of modern society, using their ghostly tales to celebrate and challenge 20th century American history and culture.
Call Number: PS374.H67 J38 2015ISBN: 9780786465736Publication Date: 2015
Painting the Dark Side: art and the Gothic imagination in nineteenth-century America by Call Number: ND210 .B87 2004ISBN: 9780520238213Publication Date: 2004
Selected eBooks
Female Gothic Histories : gender, history and the gothic by
Female Gothic Histories: Gender, History and the Gothic is an innovative new study of the ways in which women writers have used Gothic historical fiction to symbolise and counter their exclusion from traditional historical narratives.
ISBN: 9780708325759Publication Date: 2013
A Geography of Victorian Gothic Fiction : Mapping History's Nightmares by
This is the first major full-length study of Victorian Gothic fiction. Combining original readings of familiar texts with a rich store of historical sources, A Geography of Victorian Gothic Fiction is an historicist survey of nineteenth-century Gothic writing - from Dickens to Stoker, WilkieCollins to Conan Doyle, through European travelogues, sexological textbooks, ecclesiastic histories and pamphlets on the perils of self-abuse. Critics have thus far tended to concentrate on specific angles of Gothic writing (gender or race), or the belief that the Gothic 'returned' at the so-calledfin de siecle.
ISBN: 9780199262182Publication Date: 2003
Gothic and Gender by
Gothic novels tell terrifying stories of patriarchal societies thatthrive on the oppression or even outright sacrifice of women andothers. Donna Heiland's Gothic and Gender offers a historicallyinformed theoretical introduction to key gothic narratives from afeminist perspective. The book concentrates primarily on fiction from the 1760s throughthe 1840s, exploring the work of Horace Walpole, Clara Reeve,Sophia Lee, Matthew Lewis, Charlotte Dacre, Charles Maturin, AnnRadcliffe, William Godwin, Mary Wollstonecraft, Mary Shelley, JohnPolidori, James Malcolm Rymer, Emily Bronte, Charlotte Bronte,Charlotte Smith, and Charles Brockden Brown. The final chapterlooks at contemporary fiction and its relation to the gothic,including an exploration of Margaret Atwood's The Blind Assassinand Ann-Marie Macdonald's Fall on Your Knees A Coda provides an overview of scholarship on the gothic, showinghow gothic gradually became a major focus for literary critics, andpaying particular attention to the feminist reinvigoration ofgothic studies that began in the 1970s and continues today. Taken as a whole the book offers a stimulating survey of therepresentation of gender in the gothic, suitable for both studentsand readers of gothic literature.
ISBN: 9780470775691Publication Date: 2008
Gothic Incest by
The first full-length study of incest in the Gothic genre, this book argues that Gothic writers resisted the power structures of their society through incestuous desires. It provides interdisciplinary readings of incest within father-daughter, sibling, mother-son, cousin and uncle-niece relationships in texts by authors including Emily Brontë, Eliza Parsons, Ann Radcliffe and Eleanor Sleath. The analyses, underpinned by historical, literary and cultural contexts, reveal that the incest thematic allowed writers to explore a range of related sexual, social and legal concerns. Through representations of incest, Gothic writers modelled alternative agencies, sexualities and family structures that remain relevant today.
ISBN: 9781784993061Publication Date: 2018
Gothic Kinship by
Although the preoccupation of Gothic storytelling with the family has often been observed, it invites a more systematic exploration. Gothic kinship brings together case studies of Gothic kinship ties in film and literature and offers a synthesis and theorisation of the different appearances of the Gothic family.
ISBN: 9780719088605Publication Date: 2013
Haunted Presence :The numinous in Gothic fiction by
Are ghosts, vampires, and other forms of "haunted presence" related to universal religious instincts? Are emotions that play a part in religious ritual and narrative similar to those in classical works of Gothic fiction such as Dracula, Frankenstein, The Turn of the Screw, and the tales of Edgar Allan Poe?
ISBN: 9780817389673Publication Date: 2015
History of the Gothic : Twentieth-Century Gothic by
A book introducing twentieth century Gothic fiction, from Henry James to Sarah Waters. Among its primary themes are the role of the ghost in relation to childhood and cultural mourning, the relationship between Gothic architecture and the 'landscapes' of dream and nightmare.
ISBN: 9780708323625Publication Date: 2009
A New Companion to the Gothic by
The thoroughly expanded and updated New Companion to the Gothic, provides a series of stimulating insights into Gothic writing, its history and genealogy. The addition of 12 new essays and a section on 'Global Gothic' reflects the direction Gothic criticism has taken over the last decade. Many of the original essays have been revised to reflect current debates Offers comprehensive coverage of criticism of the Gothic and of the various theoretical approaches it has inspired and spawned Features important and original essays by leading scholars in the field The editor is widely recognized as the founder of modern criticism of the Gothic
ISBN: 9781405198066Publication Date: 2012
