Sports Enterprise Management: Articles & Books
Sports Business Journals
- Street & Smith's SportBusiness Journal
You can find this journal on TLB1 with our other popular publications, such as HBR and The Economist. - Journal of Sport Management
The sport management industry is growing by leaps and bounds, with an explosion in research projects, texts, and university programs. As the field continues to rapidly evolve, it’s imperative for sport managers to keep abreast of the latest developments. The peer-reviewed Journal of Sport Management (JSM) is your key to staying on top of current issues and trends in this dynamic field. An official journal of the North American Society for Sport Management, JSM brings you thought-provoking editorials, research articles, and reviews that examine a number of areas as they relate to the management, governance, and consumption of sport, such as: organizational theory, behavior, and strategy; sport operations; marketing, consumer behavior, sponsorship, advertising, and licensing; media, communications, and public relations; sport tourism; facility and event management; and gender and diversity. - Sport Management ReviewConcerned with the management, marketing & governance of sport at all levels & in all its manifestations - whether as an entertainment, a recreation, or an occupation.
General Business Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines. - Business Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News from U.S. regional business newspapers, including the Puget Sound Business Journal and Book of Lists. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access. - US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Washington State, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present
Getting your Article
In most databases, if the full text of the article is not readily available, you will see a Check for Full Text button.
Clicking on the button will do one of the following:
a) take you to the article - look for PDF full text,
b) take you to the catalog - click on the link next to Content Available
c) link you to Interlibrary Loan so you can request a copy of the article.
There are several ways go about finding an article via the UW Libraries website. However, the process is easiest when you have the article's citation handy -- which identifies the article's full title, journal, and author name.
Start by searching the article title in quotes in UW Libraries Search.
View the article by choosing “Access Options” and select one of the listed databases.
Once in the database look for 
OR 
to access the full text.
- If searching with the full article title doesn't work, try searching with the journal title instead.
Show Me
Learn More
1. Click use the libraries and choose Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service from the dropdown menu on the UW Libraries home page
2. Click 
and enter your NetId and password
3. Click a New Request option based on the type of resource you need.
<NOTE: To request a journal article, click on Request a Scan
4. Fill in all required fields for your request.
NOTE: You will receive an email with a link to your requested materials when they are available.
Watch: How do I request materials using Interlibrary Loan?
UW Libraries Search
Tips for Searching:
Once you've run a search, use the "Refine My Results" options on the left side of the page. It's a quick way to drill down to the most useful results without paging through a lot of items you're not really interested in. Options often include:
- Resource type (examples: book, article)
- Library (example: UW Tacoma)
- Creation date
- Language
- Topic
- Classification LCC (Library of Congress call numbers)
