TCMP 590 Community Planning Studio I: Media
Images
- Tacoma Public Library | Ships & ShippingA guide to more than 13000 ships which passed through the Port of Tacoma, with details on the names (and former names) of vessels, their builders, careers, and history.
- Tacoma Public Library | Northwest Room CollectionsThe Image Archive is a collection of over 35,000 historical images scanned from Tacoma Public Library's vast photography holdings.
- Washington State Historical Society | Images ServicesThe Washington State Historical Society is home to many unique collections and includes over 80,000 artifacts and half a million images, as well as audio, archives and other collections online.
- UW Libraries Digital CollectionsPhotographs, documents, and audiovisual resources from the UW Libraries, UW faculty and departments, and from UW collaborators.
- Tacoma Then and Again: Rephotographing the City of DestinyThis database contains a growing collection of rephotography—or what is commonly called “then and now” photography—of buildings, streets, neighborhoods, and parks in Tacoma.
Featured DVD
- Finding TheaCall Number: Media DVD TAC-927Publication Date: 2006Although her name is found on a waterway, a park and other places in Tacoma, Thea Foss' personal story is not well known. An immigrant from Norway and a pioneer business woman, she founded, with her husband, the Foss Launch Company. This small venture grew to be the Foss Launch and Tug Company, and is now the Seattle-based Foss Maritime Company, reputedly the largest tugboat company on the West Coast.
Port of Tacoma: Proud past
On Nov. 5, 1918, Pierce County citizens voted to establish the Port of Tacoma on 240 acres of land in the Tacoma Tideflats. Learn more about our proud past in this three-minute video.