TLIT 391 - Science Fiction Literature: Literary Criticism
What is Literary Critcism
Literary criticism is the evaluation, analysis, description, or interpretation of literature. Modern literary criticism often includes a discussion of literature's goals and methods. Most often it is the form of a critical essay.
Searching for Literary Criticism
Start by identifying if you are searching for criticism for a specific text, or a theme. You will need key words to help you find critcism and if you are searching for a text, look at the title, or author. Titles such as I, Robot prove to be a bit tricky, since this story has been published under a number of titles, so using the author and a theme can be more effective.
Searching is iterative - you likely will search several times, changing keywords or combinations in order to get to what you are looking for. Don't be discouraged if your first search doesn't find what you want.
Database & Ejournal Packages for Literary Criticism
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly and popular commentary on literature from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals from the Gale Literary Criticism series. (This content is unique and separate from The Literature Resource Center by Gale) - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text literary biographies, journal articles, critical essays, and an encyclopedia of literary terms. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source for literary scholarship, covering academic journals, chapters in books, dissertations, and websites pertaining to the study of literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Includes material from 1925 - - Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 315 resources (journals, anthologies etc.) of literary criticism. Also contains the complete texts of over 350,000 works of English and American literature (includes poetry, drama and prose).
