Skip to main content
Important Tools for Grad School & Beyond
Class Slides - October 3, 2017
Contact Your Bioengineering Librarians
We're happy to help you with:
- Research Strategies and Database Searching
- Literature Reviews
- Current Awareness Alerts
- Using Citation Managers
- Tracking Down Difficult-to-Find Information or Publications
Diana Louden and Christina Byrne
Key UW Resources for Bioengineering Graduate Students
BIOENGINEERING RESEARCH GUIDE
- Portal to recommended research resources in Bioengineering
- Article databases, technical reports, reference books, & research tips
MATCHING YOUR RESEARCH QUESTION TO A LITERATURE DATABASE
- Biomedical research and clinical care? Try PubMed.
- Engineering articles, conference papers, standards, and technical reports? Try IEEE or Engineering Village (Compendex & INSPEC).
- Chemistry and biotechnology articles and patents; chemical and material properties? Try SciFinder.
- Citation chasing across the scientific literature (who cited this paper?): Try Web of Science.
DOCUMENT DELIVERY SERVICE
- In article databases, look for the "Check for Full Text" icon. You will be led either to the online version of the article or to a document request form. The library's document delivery service will send you a copy free of charge.
- Customize PubMed to show UW full-text links by modifying settings in your My NCBI account.
- Customize Google Scholar to show UW full-text links by modifying settings in your Google account.
- When off-campus, use library links to databases (including PubMed) and journals. You will be prompted to log in with your UW NetID so you will have access to all UW subscriptions.
- Consider setting up Husky OnNet for off-campus access.
- Get help with writing, designing posters & presentations, and using citation managers.
- Participate in Scholars' Studio and practice giving a 5-minute presentation for your peers.
- Stay current with Research Commons events.
- Christina Byrne - Assistant Head, Engineering Library
- Diana Louden - Biomedical & Translational Sciences Librarian, Health Sciences Library
Text on this page created by UW Libraries is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license. Images and video are not included. See details