Skip to Main Content Skip to main content
University of Washington

Home

CI # 51629 How accurate are self-collected tests for diagnosis of common gynecologic infections?: search

Search Summary

Cochrane Library - (Systematic Reviews)

   Fajardo‐Bernal  L, Aponte‐Gonzalez  J, Vigil  P, Angel‐Müller  E, Rincon  C, Gaitán  HG, Low  N. Home‐based versus clinic‐based specimen collection in the management of Chlamydia trachomatis and Neisseria gonorrhoeae infections. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2015, Issue 9. Art. No.: CD011317. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.CD011317.pub2.
PubMed

Systematic reviews & meta analyses

 16 (sexually transmitted diseases/diagnosis[majr] OR chlamydia infections/diagnosis[majr] OR gonorrhea/diagnosis[majr] OR papillomavirus infections/diagnosis[majr] OR Streptococcal Infections/diagnosis*[majr] OR ((gonorrhea[ti] OR hpv[ti] OR papillomavirus[ti] OR papilloma virus[ti] OR chlamydia[ti] OR sexually transmitted disease*[ti] OR "group b streptococcus"[ti]) AND 2017:2018[dp] NOT medline[sb])) AND ("self collected" OR "self collect" OR "self collection" OR "self sampling" OR self swab* OR (specimen handling[mh] AND self care[mh])) AND (Meta Analysis[pt] OR meta analy*[ti] OR metaanaly*[ti] OR systematic review*[tiab] OR data synthesis[tw] OR data extraction[tw] OR Cochrane Database Syst Rev[ta] OR review literature as topic[mh]) AND english[la]
PubMed

RCTs; duplicates removed

 56 (sexually transmitted diseases/diagnosis[majr] OR chlamydia infections/diagnosis[majr] OR gonorrhea/diagnosis[majr] OR papillomavirus infections/diagnosis[majr] OR Streptococcal Infections/diagnosis*[majr] OR ((gonorrhea[ti] OR hpv[ti] OR papillomavirus[ti] OR papilloma virus[ti] OR chlamydia[ti] OR sexually transmitted disease*[ti] OR "group b streptococcus"[ti]) AND 2017:2018[dp] NOT medline[sb])) AND ("self collected" OR "self collect" OR "self collection" OR "self sampling" OR self swab* OR (specimen handling[mh] AND self care[majr])) AND (randomized controlled trial[pt] OR (random*[tiab] NOT medline[sb])) NOT (Meta Analysis[pt] OR meta analy*[ti] OR metaanaly*[ti] OR systematic review*[tiab] OR data synthesis[tw] OR data extraction[tw] OR Cochrane Database Syst Rev[ta] OR review literature as topic[mh]) AND english[la] 
PubMed

Epidemiologic studies; duplicates removed

 64 (sexually transmitted diseases/diagnosis[majr] OR chlamydia infections/diagnosis[majr] OR gonorrhea/diagnosis[majr] OR papillomavirus infections/diagnosis[majr] OR Streptococcal Infections/diagnosis*[majr]) AND ("self collected" OR "self collect" OR "self collection" OR "self sampling" OR self swab*) AND (epidemiologic studies[mh] OR comparative study[pt]) AND (accuracy*[tw] OR false positive*[tw] OR false negative*[tw] or false rate*[tw] OR "diagnostic accuracy" OR diagnostic error* OR Diagnostic Errors[mh] OR sensitivity and specificity[mh] OR reproducibility of results[mh] OR reliability[tiab] OR validity[tiab] OR validation[tiab] OR sensitiv*[tw] OR specificity[tw]) NOT (randomized controlled trial[pt] OR (random*[tw] NOT medline[sb]) OR Meta Analysis[pt] OR meta analy*[tiab] OR metaanaly*[tiab] OR systematic review*[tiab] OR data synthesis[tw] OR data extraction[tw] OR Cochrane Database Syst Rev[ta]) AND english[la] 
PubMed

Guidelines; duplicates removed

 4 (sexually transmitted diseases/diagnosis[majr] OR chlamydia infections/diagnosis[majr] OR gonorrhea/diagnosis[majr] OR papillomavirus infections/diagnosis[majr] OR Streptococcal Infections/diagnosis*[majr] OR gonorrhea[ti] OR hpv[ti] OR papillomavirus[ti] OR papilloma virus[ti] OR chlamydia[ti] OR sexually transmitted disease*[ti] OR "group b streptococcus"[ti]) AND ("self collected" OR "self collect" OR "self collection" OR "self sampling" OR self swab* OR (specimen handling[mh] AND self care[mh])) AND (Guideline[pt] OR Practice Guideline[pt] OR practice guidelines as topic[mh] OR guideline*[ti] OR guidance[ti] OR recommendation*[ti])
FPIN CIs, PURLS  

Is self-swabbing for STIs a good idea? JFP 62(11) 2013; 651-3.

Are self-swabs as effective for screening for vaginal STIs as swabs collected during a speculum exam? EBP 21(2) Feb. 2018: E4-E5.

Author Information

Clinician Authors: Garima Ajmani and Gary Kelsberg

Librarian:  Sarah Safranek

Search Due Date: Nov 2018

Manuscript Due Date:

Contact and Questions

Ordering Articles/Books

Librarian Contact Information:

Sarah Safranek, MLIS
safranek@uw.edu