Scholarly Literature
Databases
PubMed
National Library of Medicine's citation database of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed Health Services Research (HSR) Queries
PubMed searches on healthcare quality and costs.
Business Subject Guide
Databases available at UW (Foster Business Library), and guides to researching companies, industries and markets.
BCC Research
Specialized market research reports covering high-tech, energy, and healthcare sectors.
Law Subject Guide
Gallagher Law Library research guides
Database of promoting health effectiveness reviews (DoPHER)
Coverage of systematic and non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide.
HCUP: Healthcare Cost and Utilization Databases
State, regional and national level discharge data, available for purchase. Includes State Inpatient Databases (SID), State Ambulatory Surgery Databases (SASD), State Emergency Department Databases (SEDD), Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS), and Kids' Inpatient Database (KID). Free tools include AHRQ Quality Indicators (QIs), Clinical Classifications Software (CCS), Comorbidity Software, and HCUPnet, a web interface to free HCUP data.
MEPS - Medical Expenditure Panel Survey
A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States providing data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
Select Journals
Hastings Center Report
1996-
Health Affairs
1981-
Includes Health Affairs Blog
Harvard Business Review
1922-
Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law
2000-
Milbank Quarterly
1997-
Modern Healthcare
1996-
Books
UW Libraries Search
Search UW Libraries resources for ebooks, ejournals, databases, videos, and more.
WorldCat
(Formerly OCLC FirstSearch) Catalog of holdings from thousands of libraries worldwide
Tutorials & Knowledge Paths
Statistics Sources: Health Sciences
UW HSL guide to sources for local, state, national and international statistics and data in the field of health sciences.
Government Publications Subject Guide
Provides access to publications and data produced by governmental and inter-governmental agencies at the international, national, state and local levels.
Health Care Reform Guide
Government Publications Quick Links by Subject
Center for Studying Health System Change
Nonpartisan policy research organization which conducts studies of U.S. health care system.
Commonwealth Fund
Private foundation supporting independent research on health care issues and making grants to improve health care practice and policy. Publications include issue briefs, newsletters & health system scorecards.
Kaiser Family Foundation
Archived Kaiser.EDU tutorials regarding health policy issues, research methodology and government.
Maternal and Child Health Knowledge Base
Resources for selected MCH topics, compiled at the MCH Library at Georgetown U.
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Evidence & Guidelines
ECRI Guidelines Trust New
Registration required.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Evidence Reports
Clinical, health care services, and methodology reports from Evidence-based Practice Centers.
Evidence-based quality measures and measure sets.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)
Includes evidence-based reviews from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Cochrane Library
(Wiley) Systematic reviews (CDSR), DARE, controlled trials register, technology assessments, economic evaluations.
Grey Literature
Think Tank Search
Grey literature search engine from Harvard Kennedy School Library and Knowledge Services
Congressional Bills & Bill Status
Full text of legislation from the 101st Congress (1989) to date, and bill summaries from the 93rd Congress (1973 - 1974) to date.
Grey Literature Report
NYAM Library report & catalog of new publications in health services and selected public health topics. 1999-2016.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Index to dissertations and theses from all fields of study, 1861-present, with full text available 1997-present.
Dissertations and Theses at UW
Find scholarly work closely reviewed by a committee for a doctoral degree (for dissertations) or masters degree (for theses).
News
Washington Healthcare News
Register for free e-mail delivery.
CQ Healthbeat
Provides key health policy developments on Capitol Hill, and in agencies including CMS, NIH, CDC and AHRQ.
Health Reform Source
Roundup of studies and developments related to health reform.
Orientation
School of Public Health Orientation
Guide to getting started at the UW School of Public Health.
Librarian
Leah DeSantis
UW Health Sciences Library's Public Health & Research Services Librarian
Class Resources
