Food Systems, Nutrition, and Health Toolkit

Databases

Select Journals

• Agriculture and Human Values
• American Journal of Clinical Nutrition
• Annual Review of Nutrition
• Food Policy
• Frontiers in Sustainable Food Systems
• Global Environmental Change
• Global Food Security
• Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Community Development (JAFSCD)
• Journal of Hunger & Environmental Nutrition
• Journal of Nutrition
• Nature Food
• Find Health Sciences eJournals by Title
  Search by title for journals available through UW Libraries

Select Books

• Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology
• Nutrition Care Manual
  From ADA and AND. Research-based nutrition information by expert RDNs who are specialists in adult clinical nutrition.
• Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual
  From ADA and AND. By the Pediatric Nutrition Dietetic Practice Group (PNPG) of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
• Bloomsbury Food Library
  Collection of reference works and ebooks on food studies.
• Nutrition Books
  List of select books about nutrition.

• Civil Eats
• Food Tank
• News Sources
  Includes a guide to Ethnic Press, a helpful way to incorporate more perspectives and help conduct anti-racist research.

• Dissertations and Theses at UW
  Guide to finding dissertations and theses at the UW and beyond.

• Guide to Grey Literature
  From the Finding Qualitative Research Articles Guide.
• Open Think Tank Directory
  Global collection of think tanks and related organizations.
• OpenGrey: System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe
  Bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe.
• UW Libraries Search
  Articles, books, and more. Use filters to limit to books and other non-article formats.
• WorldCat
  Search the holdings of over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Use this search to find books and other materials not available in UW and Summit Libraries. Use Interlibrary Loan to request items not owned by UW Libraries or its borrowing partners.
• Think Tank Search
  Google custom search of think tanks and research centers.
• The Food Timeline
  A catalog of culinary history from reference librarian Lynne Olver, now maintained by the Virginia Tech University Libraries.
• Google Advanced Search
  Try searching using domain names; this allows you to use the power of Google on nonprofit, government, and other websites. Keep in mind that not every site allows Google to index their pages.
• Food and Drink in History: Module II
  This collection illustrates the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.
• Culinary Arts
  Scholarly and non-scholarly articles covering cooking and nutrition.

Intergovernmental Organization (IGO) | Nongovernmental Organization (NGO)

• Union of International Associations IGO Search
  Search intergovernmental websites, comprising over 3000 bodies including the United Nations, the European Commission, the World Bank, etc.
• Intergovernmental Organization search engine
  Custom Google search engine that searches across hundreds of IGO websites.
• NGO search engine
  Custom Google search engine designed to search across hundreds of NGO websites.
• Yearbook of International Organizations
  Detailed descriptions of NGO, IGO, non-profit, and other international organizations.

• U.S. Government Publications
  Guides to federal, state, and local government publications.

• Food Policy Networks
  Directory of over 280 food policy councils in North America, database of food policies, and additional resources for food policy councils and organizations by Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future.
• ReFED Insights Engine
  U.S. food loss and waste mapping, including a food waste monitor, impact calculator, and capital tracker.

• NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS)
  Includes databases of dietary supplement labels, ingredients, and more.
• Bowes & Church's food values of portions commonly used
  Print database listing the values of 31 food components for more than 6,300 foods.
• CDC Nutrition
• Dietary Guidelines for Americans
  From the U.S. Departments of Health and Human Services (HHS) and Agriculture (USDA).

• USDA Nutrition Evidence Systematic Review
  Systematic reviews to inform federal nutrition policy and programs in the U.S.

• Health Sciences Statistics
  Guide to sources for local, state, national and international statistics and data in the field of health sciences.
• Data Resources in the Health Sciences
  Guide to sources for data including citing data.
• Federal data: alternative access
  UW Libraries guide with alternative access points for federal data that has been removed from official sources.
• Finding Data
  Guide to finding data.
• U.S. Census
  Guide to the U.S. Decennial Census.
• Washington State Department of Health: Data & Statistical Reports

Food and Nutrition Data

• Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
  Food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories.
• Food Systems Dashboard
  A global database that incorporates country-level information from multiple databases. Maintained by the Johns Hopkins University, GAIN, and FAO.
• Our World in Data
  See sections on Food & Agriculture, Demographics, Health, and the Sustainable Development Goals.
• USDA Food Surveys Research Group
  Survey results for food and nutrition-related programs and public policy decisions.
• FDA: Science & Research (Food)
  FDA’s Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (CFSAN) research.
• CDC National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
  Nationally representative data from the U.S. on dietary intake, health behaviors, anthropometric measurements, laboratory tests, and demographics.
• Food Commodity Intake Database
  Also known as “What We Eat in America,” from the US Environmental Protection Agency. Data from the dietary intake interview component of NHANES.
• Food Availability Data System
  The USDA Economic Research Service (ERS) Food Availability (Per Capita) Data System (FADS) includes three data series on food and nutrient availability for consumption: food availability data, loss-adjusted food availability data, and nutrient availability data.
• USDA FoodData Central
  USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference, and USDA Branded Food Products Database.

Economic Related

• USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)
  Food prices for over 4,600 foods that appear in NHANES from the USDA Food and Nutrition Service.
• BLS Consumer Price Index (CPI)
  Average changes in consumer prices over time for 15 food groups from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS).
• National Household Food Acquisition and Purchase Survey (FoodAPS)
  Dietary data, health behaviors, and demographic data for over 4,800 respondents in the U.S. from the USDA Economic Research Service.

Agriculture Related

• USDA National Agricultural Statistics Survey (NASS)
  Includes the Census of Agriculture and the Agricultural Surveys, which reports on the characteristics of farms, ranches, and their operations from 1840 onward. NASS Quick Stats
• USDA Economic Research Service (ERS)
  Includes data on agricultural productivity, agriculture trade, commodity costs, fertilizer use and prices, a food environment atlas, and more.

Food Waste Related

• USDA Loss-Adjusted Food Availability (LAFA) Data Series
  Derived from ERS's food availability data by adjusting for food spoilage, plate waste, and other losses to more closely approximate actual intake. From the USDA ERS.
• ReFED Insights Engine
  Includes visual dashboards on the amount of food wasted, the impact of wasted food, and the relative effectiveness of different food waste reduction strategies.

Climate Change and Environment Related

• World Bank Group Climate Change Knowledge Portal (CCKP)
  Hub for climate-related information, data, and tools for the World Bank Group (WBG).
• Database of Food Impacts on the Environment for Linking to Diets (dataFIELD)
  Data on greenhouse gas emissions and cumulative energy demand for over 500 commodities from teh University of Michigan Center for Sustainable Systems.

• Food Systems, Nutrition, & Health Research Guide
• Accessing Libraries Resources
• Citation Management Tools
• Evaluating the Evidence
• School of Public Health Orientation
  Guide to getting started at the UW School of Public Health.
• Writer's Guide