Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diversity Readings Related to First-Year Courses

Introduction

This page offers selected readings related to the Transnational Law class, a  "survey of basic principles of public international law; comparative and historical overview of various legal traditions (civil law, common law, Islamic law, and mixed systems."

We emphasize "selected" because it would be possible to expand the lists exponentially if we considered "diversity readings" to encompass anything related to the legacy of colonialism, to religious conflict, to poverty, or to human rights. If you would like to read deeply in international or comparative law, use the catalog or browse the stacks and you will find many, many more works.

Selected Works on Selected Topics

Catharine A. Mackinnon, Gender in Constitutions, in The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Constitutional Law (Michel Rosenfeld & András Sajó eds., 2012) (UW resource)

Jason Beckett, Creating Poverty, in The Oxford Handbook of the Theory of International Law (Anne Orford & Florian Hoffmann eds., 2016) (UW resource)

Christine Chinkin, Gender and Armed Conflict, in The Oxford Handbook of International Law in Armed Conflict (2014) (UW resource)

Ken Coates, North American Indigenous Peoples’ Encounters, in The Oxford Handbook of the History of International Law (Bardo Fassbender & Anne Peters eds., 2012) (UW resource)

D. M. Davis, Socio-Economic Rights, in The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Constitutional Law (Michel Rosenfeld & András Sajó eds., 2012)

Gina Heathcote, Feminist Perspectives on the Law on the Use of Force, in The Oxford Handbook of the Use of Force in International Law (Marc Weller ed., 2015) (UW resource)

Harry D. Krause, Comparative Family Law: Past Traditions Battle Future Trends—and Vice Versa, in The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Law  (Mathias Reimann & Reinhard Zimmermann eds., 2006) (UW resource)

Karin Mickelson, Critical Approaches, in The Oxford Handbook of International Environmental Law (Daniel Bodansky et al. eds., 2008) (link is to UW-licensed resource)

Janne E. Nijman, Minorities and Majorities, in The Oxford Handbook of the History of International Law (Bardo Fassbender & Anne Peters eds., 2012) (UW resource)

Sergey Vasiliev, The Crises and Critiques of International Criminal Justice , Oxford Handbook of International Criminal Justice (Kevin Jon Heller et al. eds., 2020) (UW resource)

James D. Wilets, From Divergence to Convergence? A Comparative and International Law Analysis of LGBTI Rights in the Context of Race and Post-Colonialism, 21 Duke J. Comp. & Int'l L. 631-86 (2011), Duke University Law Repository