Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services for Faculty and Staff

Information for UW Law Faculty and Staff about the services we offer.

COVID-19

corona virus

Graphic: coronavirus, from CDC's Public Health Image Library.

On March 6, 2020, Provost Mark Richards announced that UW classes on all three campuses would be taught remotely for the rest of winter quarter, beginning March 9.

This page includes links to help faculty with this change in their teaching plans.

Guides & Collections

This section of the guide lists guides and directories collecting information about online pedagogy, COVID-19 and legal education, and so on.

UW Resources

Zoom Tips

Videos from Tracy L. Norton (Touro), from a post to HYBRIDJDS@listserv.touro.edu listserv on 3/10/2020 (as posted on CALI's list of resources):

As promised, I've recorded several videos to help out with teaching online generally and using Zoom specifically. The first two are quick how-tos on equipment that could be helpful and features that help you and your space look camera ready. The last two are different recordings of a single conversation between me, Ann Nowak (Touro Law Writing Center Director) and Lynne Kramer (Touro Law Professor, trial ad and negotiations) in which we talk about some practical tips that aren't covered in most help videos. We also talk about using different features for different types of classroom activities. Ann talks about her very interactive online Law Practice Management course as well as individual meetings for the Writing Center. Lynne talks about trial ad and negotiation exercises. I talk about writing courses and feedback conferences. The first of these videos is what Zoom recorded and is, mostly, what participants would have seen. The second of these videos is a screencast so you can see what I was seeing as I moderated the conversation and how I accessed the different features. At one point, I accidentally leave the Zoom room, so the Zoom video records what Lynne was saying while the screencast does not, because I wasn't there.

Video 1: Equipment Setup (6 min, 14 sec)

Video 2: Zoom Feature for Sprucing Up Your Appearance and Your Space (3 min, 43 sec)

Video 3: Zoom Recording of a Conversation Sharing Practical Tips (1 hour, 2 minutes) - 

Video 4: Screencast Recording of a Conversation Sharing Practical Tips (same conversation as Video 3, just from the moderator's perspective) ) (58 minutes, 23 sec)) - Recorded Using Camtasia.

Josh Blackman, Thoughts and Tips on Teaching with Zoom, Volokh Conspiracy (March 12, 2020, 5:33 PM)

Online Pedagogy - Law School

Josh Blackman, Thoughts and Tips on Teaching with Zoom, Volokh Conspiracy (March 12, 2020, 5:33 PM)

Bridget Crawford, Tips for Teaching Law Classes Online in the Event of a COVID-19 Shut Down of Law Schools, Faculty Lounge (March 7, 2020). Crawford has been "teaching Federal Income Tax and Wills,Trusts & Estates in mixed live/online formats since 2009." Includes a short (24 min.) video.

William Fisher, Emergency Online Pegagogy, TFisherIP.com (March 14, 2020). Thoughtful tips, from a professor who has taught online courses for years.

Jacqueline Lipton, Distance Legal Education: Lessons from the *Virtual* Classroom, IDEA (forthcoming 2020), SSRN. "This essay reflects on the author’s experiences over a number of years as both a teacher and student in distance education classes in both legal and other areas of instruction."

Ellen S. Podgor, Teaching a Live Synchronous Distance Learning Course: A Student Focused Approach, 2006 U. Ill.J. L. Tech & Pol'y 263, SSRN

Allie Robbins, Thoughts for Law Professors Contemplating Moving to Virtual Classes, The Activist Guide to Passing the Bar Exam (March 10, 2020) (Robbins teaches at CUNY Law).

Angela Upchurch, Practical Tips for Creating Online Videos (January 6, 2016), SSRN

Charlie Perkins, Canceling a Snow Day, CALIcon19 (June 9, 2019)

Panel, The Problem of Engaging Students at a Distance, CALIcon18 (June 26, 2018)

Mike Gregory & John Mayer, Distance Learning in Non-Distance Learning Courses, CALIcon18 (June 27, 2018)

Going Online for COVID19 - Higher Ed Advice



Distance Education in the Time of Coronavirus: Quick and Easy Strategies for Teachers (March 15, 2020), by Seth Oranburg, Duquesne Law. Video includes very practical tips about equipment and presentations. Paper: Seth Oranburg, Distance Education in the Time of Coronavirus: Quick and Easy Strategies for Professors (March 13, 2020), SSRN

Sean M. Krahmer et al., Ensuring Instructional Continuity in a Potential Pandemic, Inside Higher Educ. (March 4, 2020). Includes table listing instructional strategies, student activities, and evidence of student attendance or participation for each.

 

Online Learning Consortion logo

Making the Shift to Online Learning: Emergency Preparedness & Instructional Continuity, Online Learning Consortium (March 6, 2020) (on-demand webinar, 1 hr.)

Using Live, Online Sessions to Support Continuity of Instruction, Online Learning Consortium (March 9, 2020) (on-demand webinar)

Online Pedagogy - Not Necessarily Law School

cartoon of instructor in front of a classroom with only laptops, includes article titleDarby Flower, How to Be a Better Online Teacher (Advice Guide), Chron. of Higher Educ. (UW Libraries licenses the Chronicle of Higher Education for the UW community. If you're at home, be sure you are logged in with your UW NetID or using Remote Desktop.)

Includes 10 essential principles and practices of better online teaching (with discussion):

  1. Show up to class.
  2. Be yourself.
  3. Put yourself in their shoes.
  4. Organize course content intuitively.
  5. Add visual appeal. (Note: All visuals should be accessible to all students.)
  6. Explain your expectations.
  7. Scaffold learning activities.
  8. Provide examples.
  9. Make class an inviting, pleasant place to be.
  10. Commit to continuous improvement.

 

page PDF if free to download if you register for Faculty Focus e-newsletter. Includes:
  • 7 Strategies to Promote Community in Online Courses
  • Tips from the Pros: Retrieval Practice in Online Teaching
  • Convey Your Online Teaching Persona
  • Designing Effective Team Projects in Online Courses
  • Ten Online Teaching Tips You May Not Have Heard
  • What We Can Learn From Unsuccessful Online Students
  • What Do Students Really Want From Online Instructors?
  • The Art and Science of Successful Online Discussions
  • Using Bridge Questions to Teach Technical Content Online
  • A Mini Guide for Fixing Anything That Can Go Wrong in the Online Classroom
 
 
Jan Welker & Lisa Berardino, Successful Practices in Online Teaching, The Exchange, Vol. 1, No. 1 (Dec. 2012), SSRN
This paper is written for instructors reluctant to teach web-based courses (hereafter referenced as online courses) or [who] may be experiencing difficulties in one or more of the areas discussed herein. We find online teaching very satisfying and want to share our successful practices based on a combined 20 years of designing and delivering graduate and undergraduate courses online as well as the sustained positive feedback from our students in course evaluations. We will address faculty in this paper as instructors.

 

Florence Martin et al., Student perception of helpfulness of facilitation strategies that enhance instructor presence, connectedness, engagement and learning in online courses, 37 Internet & Higher Educ. 52-65 (2018) 

Jon Taylor et al., Designing and Teaching an Online Module, in Learning and Teaching in Higher Education: Perspectives from a Business School (Kathy Daniels et al. eds., 2019) (publisher is providing free access during COVID-19 crisis).

Richard Terry et al., Successful Teaching in Virtual Classrooms, in Learning and Teaching in Higher Education: Perspectives from a Business School (Kathy Daniels et al. eds., 2019) (publisher is providing free access during COVID-19 crisis).

Anya Evmenova, Preparing Teachers to Use Universal Design for Learning to Support Diverse Learners, 4 J. Online Learning Research 147-71 (2018). Study of 70 educators in master's programs at two universities.

Accessibility

Civil Discourse

As you've probably experienced, tempers can flare online and participants in a discussion can say harsh words that they wouldn't necessarily say face to face. It's also easy to type something you think is innocuous that is interpreted as hurtful—and the misunderstanding can be hard to clear up if people aren't in the same room. So it might be worth suggesting some guidelines for online discussion (BEFORE a flame war engulfs the class).

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Online

Rachel Baker et al., Race and Gender Biases Appear in Online Education, Brookings (Apr. 27, 2018) (reporting study of responses to fictive students with gendered or racialized names in massive online courses)

Amy Hilbelink, Multicultural Sensitivity in Course Design, eLearn Magazine (May 2019)

Alex Kumi-Yeboah et al., Online Collaborative Learning Activities: The Perceptions of Culturally Diverse Graduate Students, Online Learning, Dec 2017, at 5-28

Karen Milheim, A Fundamental Look at Cultural Diversity and the Online Classroom, eLearn Magazine (2017)

Christy M. Rhodes & Steven W. Schmidt, Culturally Responsive Teaching in the Online Classroom, eLearn Magazine (Nov. 2018)

 

CALI

CALI logo

CALI (the Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction) offers lots of resources specifically for legal education. UW Law is a member school (as are most US law schools). If you need to set up your CALI account, contact lawref@uw.edu.

 

 

The following is lifted from CALI's  Resources for Law Faculty On Teaching and Coronavirus / Covid-19:

ASYNCHRONOUS, INTERACTIVE, SELF-PACED TUTORIALS

CALI Lessons are the original distance learning.  There are over 1000 lessons covering 40 different legal subject areas.  A good bet is to look at the Subject Outline for the course you are teaching, find the specific topics you are teaching and assign those lessons to your students.  Here is a quick list of CALI's Subject Outlines with links to CALI Lessons.  CALI Lessons take 25-45 minutes to complete, so you could replace part of a class by requiring a lesson and use online time to discuss questions.  Contact Deb Quentel - dquentel@cali.org with questions. 

TRACKING STUDENT PROGRESS / FORMATIVE ASSESSMENT

If you want to track students running lessons and see their scores, then use LessonLink to create a unique URL.  When students run a CALI Lesson using your LessonLink , you can see the their scores and get an analytics report by students and questions.  You can download the data to an Excel spreadsheet too.  Contact Elmer Masters - emasters@cali.org with questions. 

PODCASTS

Tell your students about our podcasts.  We have over 70 podcasts - mostly in Contracts and Secured Transactions.  You can find them here.  

POLLING THE CLASS ONLINE/REAL TIME

If you are teaching online using Zoom or GoToWebinar, you can poll your students using Instapoll.  This is a free service where you go to Instapoll, create a new poll and then give your students the Pin #.  They go to Instapoll and answer your verbal question.  You see the results.  No one has to login - it's INSTANT!  You can clear the results and re-use the same poll or create a new poll - as many as you want.  

FREE CASEBOOKS / SUPPLEMENTAL READINGS

CALI publishes free casebooks and textbooks that you and your students can view and download for free.  These books are Creative Commons Licensed, so you can download the PDF, ebook or even the Microsoft Word file.  See our bookstore here.