Skip to main content
Code of Conduct
Maps & Directions
Law Librarianship Education
Collection Development Policy
Pay Invoice with Credit Card
Faculty & Staff
University of Washington Libraries
Gallagher Law Library Guides
All the Guides, by Title
Search this Guide
Gallagher Law Library Guides
A list of guides from the Gallagher Law Library
All the Guides, by Title
Alphabetical List of Guides
Using the Library & Library Resources
Legal Research (Not Topic-Specific)
Legal Topics: General & Federal
Washington State Research & Topics
Foreign & International Law
Writing, Publishing & Reading
Law School & Careers
Alphabetical List of Guides
50-State / Multi-Jurisdiction Surveys
Provides information on resources to find laws from multiple states or jurisdictions on a particular legal issue.
Access to Westlaw, Bloomberg Law & Lexis Advance
Commercial online legal research systems the library licenses for UW Law.
Bluebook 101 [Gallagher Law Library]
Information about The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation.
Cannabis Law - Recreational
Includes resources for finding information about the laws related to recreational cannabis law at the state and federal levels.
Chinese Law A-Z
Bibliographies, Blogs, Books, Court Decisions, and more.
Includes sources for the rules and rule history. Also: treatises, forms, practice materials.
Congressional Research Service Reports
Reports and studies from a division of the Library of Congress.
Copyright Law: see Intellectual Property Research [Gallagher Law Library]
Court Briefs & Oral Arguments
Library holdings and online sources for U.S. Supreme Court, 9th Circuit, Washington Supreme Court, and Washington Court of Appeals briefs and oral arguments.
Federal, state, and regional reporters. Digests.
Diversity in the Legal Profession
Includes advice, academic studies, and profiles.
Diversity Readings Related to First-Year Courses
Readings related to Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, Legal Analysis, Research & Writing, Property, and Torts.
Drafting Contracts: Formbooks & Drafting Resources
East Asian Law Quick Reference
Includes sections on
East Asia in General
China (People's Republic of China)
South Korea (Republic of Korea)
North Korea (Democratic People's Republic of Korea
Taiwan (Republic of China)
Employment & Labor Law Research [Gallagher Law Library]
Includes employment, labor, and employment discrimination.
Business, corporate, and intellectual property resources related to entrepreneurial law.
Family Law Research & Practice
Includes major treatises, practitioner material, 50-state surveys, CALI lessons.
Federal Legislative History
Fellowship Opportunities in Law
Finding Washington State Laws [Gallagher Law Library]
Includes Revised Code of Washington, prior codes, session laws.
Gallagher Law Library Hours
Genetics & the Law
Guide for Law Journal Students
Health Law Research [Gallagher Law Library]
Indian & Tribal Law
Index to UW School of Law Indian Law Symposia & Conferences, 1987-2014
Innocence Project Northwest Clinic: Articles, Books & Websites
Intellectual Property Research [Gallagher Law Library]
Includes patent law, copyright law, trademark law, trade secrets law, with a section on foreign and international IP.
International Human Rights Research
Secondary sources, resports, UN human rights system, regional human rights systems.
Islamic Law Research
Articles, books, dissertations, and primary law sources.
Japanese Law A-Z
From Administrative Scriveners to Women's Rights.
Judicial Branch Publications
Federal court publications. Focus on free online or UW-restricted resources.
Parodies, verse, puns, and more.
Jury Verdicts & Settlements
Resources for finding information about jury verdicts and case settlements.
Korean Law A-Z
How to find all sorts of Korean legal materials.
Labor Law - see Employment & Labor Law Research
Law-Related Blogs in Washington State
Law Databases: A to Z
Law of the Sea
Customs, treaties, and international agreements relating to the sea.
Law School Exams
Archive of UW Law exams, plus links to some other schools' exams and resources on preparing for exams.
Learning About Legal Careers & the Job Search
Legal & Judicial Systems in Countries Around the World
Sources on legal systems, constitutions, constitutional cases. How to find books and law review articles.
Legal Specialties & Practice Settings
Includes books and other resources about specialties (e.g., personal injury), practice settings (e.g., firm vs. government), and alternatives to law practice.
Includes bill drafting, lobbying, and statutory interpretation.
Library Resources for Members of the Public
Macfarlane Transportation Collection Guide
Transportation law materials purchased with funding from the Robert S. Macfarlane family.
Medicare & Medicaid
Other States' Primary Law Sources
Primary law from states other than Washington.
Patent Law: see Intellectual Property Research [Gallagher Law Library]
Resources about the presidency and limits on presidential power.
Prizewinning Books in Law
Law-related books that have won the National Book Award, the Pulitzer Prize, the ABA Silver Gavel, or other awards.
Includes Rules of Professional Conduct, ethics opinions, treatises.
Recommended Reading, Law
Selected books on the law school experience, the legal profession, noteworthy cases, and the law in general.
Researching Lawyers & Legal Employers
Research Services Librarian Assistance
Information for UW Law faculty, students & staff.
Reserving Study Rooms
Information for UW Law students.
Overview of legal secondary sources, including treatises, study aids, periodical articles, encyclopedias, and American Law Reports.
Social Justice Organizations in Washington State
Links to websites.
The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is an open-access repository where authors can post papers and researchers can find and download them.
Statistics for Law & Policy
Selective list of statistics sources.
Resources include newsletters, blogs, online alerts.
J.D. and LL.M. papers and Ph.D. dissertations in the law library's collection.
Study Aids for Law Students
Online tax resources, including Bloomberg Law, Lexis, Westlaw, Checkpoint, HeinOnline.
Themis, Goddess of Justice
Ever wonder about the blindfolded woman with the scales?
Tracking Citations to Articles
Trademark Law: see Intellectual Property Research [Gallagher Law Library]
Treaties & Other International Agreements
Tribal Court Decisions
Part of the Indian & Tribal Law guide.
U.S. (Federal) Laws
United States Code and U.S. Statutes at Large.
U.S. Administrative Law Research
Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Agency Decisions.
U.S. Constitution & Related Sources
Research guide. Includes material for history of the Constitution (e.g., Federalist Papers).
U.S. Presidential Documents
U.S. Supreme Court Nominations: The Nomination & Confirmation Process
Using Lexis Advance, Westlaw, & Bloomberg Law
Provides information and tutorials on how to use the three primary online legal research services
UW Law Reads
Recommendations from UW Law faculty & staff, 2015-16.
What does it mean when a database is "UW Restricted"?
Washington Attorney General Opinions
This guide discusses how to find Attorney General opinions on the constitutional or legal questions relating to the duties of state officers.
Washington Governor's Executive Orders & Related Documents
Executive orders, directives, proclamations.
Washington Practice Materials
Deskbooks, Washington Practice, court rules, etc.
Washington State Administrative Law
Regulatory process, Washington Administrative Code (WAC), Washington State Register, agency decisions.
Washington State Bar Exam Preparation
Washington State Constitution Research [Gallagher Law Library]
Materials include The Journal of the Washington State Constitutional Convention, 1889, law review articles, and newspaper articles from 1889. Links to state constitutions that influenced Washington's framers.
Washington State Court Opinions & Related Resources
Washington State Environmental Policy Act
The law, legislative history, administrative materials, secondary sources.
Washington State Family Law Resources
Includes sources aimed at attorneys and sources for people who are not attorneys.
Washington State Legislative History
Includes print sources as well as free and commercial online sources.
Wellness & Mindfulness Resources for UW Law Students
Word Tips for Legal Writers
Gallagher Law Library guide with tips on formatting, keyboard shortcuts, and more.
Writing for & Publishing in Law Reviews
General advice, finding & developing topics, preemption checking, choosing where to submit, submitting papers.
Zotero and Other Citation Management Tools
Using the Library & Library Resources >>
Nov 21, 2019 12:58 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem
Advanced Legal Research
U.S. Legal Research
Using the Law Library