Skip to main content

Law Library Student Services

Information for UW Law students about the services we offer.

Working Remotely

The COVID-19 pandemic has led to UW Law classes moving online and everyone working from home in order to slow the spread of the virus.

This page will collect some resources for you as you adjust to the new educational setting.

A great place to start is A Student's Guide to 'Working From Home', by Imran Malek, a 3L at Boston University, who had years of remote work experience as an engineer before law school.

Remote Teaching Tips are aimed at faculty, but might be useful for students (especially those who present online or organize Zoom meetings for their student orgs).

UW Links

Internet Access

Advice for Law Students

The Coronavirus Survival Guide, National Jurist (Spring 2020). Includes:

  • Online Learning to the Rescue. Are You Ready for It?
  • How to Excel in an Online Class: Answers from the Experts
  • How to Excel in an Online Class: 5 Truths About Distance Learning
  • What an Online Student Experience Is Really Like
  • The Self-Care Guide for Law Students
  • How to Stay Healthy, Positive, and Productive in the Time of Covid-19

Coping with COVID-19 in Law School, Law School Toolbox Podcast No. 236 (March 23, 2020)

Imran Malek, A Student's Guide to 'Working from Home', Notion (updated March 12, 2020)

Legal Publishers

Accessing Databases

Databases for which students create individual usernames and passwords--including some of the most commonly used legal databases, Westlaw, LexisNexis, and Bloomberg Law--should continue to work as normal anywhere you have internet access; just log in with your username and password as usual.

Many other databases provided by the Gallagher Law Library or UW Libraries rely on IP authentication--which requires your computer or device to be on the UW network to gain access. This includes important databases like HeinOnline. Luckily there are workarounds to access these databases from home when you can't be physically on campus to connect to the network.

For most databases, the easiest way to access them remotely is to click on their link from the Selected Databases box on the Gallagher homepage or our Law Databases A-Z list or by searching and following links from the catalog. For databases from the main campus UW Libraries, access them via clicking links off of the UW Libraries homepage or searching the catalog. When you access databases and e-books from the library websites rather than searching for the database on Google or typing its URL into your browser, the library website will request you to log in with your NETID if you are not already logged in and will then automatically forward your request through a proxy server to make it appear to the database as if you are on the campus network. 

For a couple of databases, you will need to set up UW's Husky OnNet VPN service, which is free for students, faculty, and staff. This will allow access to the WSBA Deskbooks on Casemaker and Law360 (note: law students also have access to Law360 through their Lexis accounts). Connecting via Husky OnNet will also allow students who want to create a Checkpoint account to do so, which normally requires physically being on campus. 

Good to Know