Skip to main content

U.S. Presidential Documents

Public Papers of the Presidents

The Public Papers of the President is the official publication of the public writings, addresses, and remarks of the U.S. President. The annual volumes of documents issued by the White House Office of the Press Secretary are compiled by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives & Records Administration, and printed by the Government Publishing Office.

In 1977, the Public Papers was expanded to include everything published in the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, but starting in 1989, executive orders, proclamations, and some other documents were omitted. Instead, each volume has an appendix with citations to the Federal Register.

The series covers the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, G.H. W. Bush, Clinton, G.W. Bush, and Obama. President Franklin Roosevelt's papers were privately published before the official series started.


Online Sources

Print Sources

The volumes of the Public Papers of the President of the United States for each president from 1929 to date are cataloged separately, but shelved as one series in the the Classified Stacks, J80.A283.