Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

Racial Justice Resources: History of Racism & Resistance

Ebooks @ UW Libraries

book cover: Stamped from the beginning : the definitive history of racist ideas in America
The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story
White Men's Law : the Roots of Systemic Racism
No Common Ground: Confederate Monuments and the Ongoing Fight for Racial Justice
book cover: Those Who Know Don't Say: the Nation of Islam, the Black Freedom Movement, and the Carceral State
book cover: How the South Won the Civil War: Oligarchy, Democracy, and the Continuing Fight for the Soul of America
Monumental Harm : Reckoning with Jim Crow Era Confederate Monuments.
book cover: The Fire Next Time
book cover: Civil Rights and the Making of the Modern American State
The Kerner Report: The National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders
book cover: American While Black : African Americans, Immigration, and the Limits of Citizenship
book cover: Steeped in the Blood of Racism : Black Power, Law and Order, and the 1970 Shootings at Jackson State College
book cover: Race for Profit: How Banks and the Real Estate Industry Undermined Black Homeownership
book cover: Confederate Statues and Memorialization
book cover: Black Power : Radical Politics and African American Identity
book cover: Emmett Till: The Murder That Shocked the World and Propelled the Civil Rights Movement
book cover: How the Suburbs Were Segregated: Developers and the Business of Exclusionary Housing, 1890-1960
book cover: Lynching and Spectacle: Witnessing Racial Violence in America, 1890–1940
book cover: The Rising Tide of Color: Race, State Violence, and Radical Movements across the Pacific
book cover: American Lynching
book cover: In Struggle: SNCC and the Black Awakening of the 1960s.
book cover: Closer to Freedom: Enslaved Women and Everyday Resistance in the Plantation South
book cover: Black against Empire: The History and Politics of the Black Panther Party
book cover: Death Blow to Jim Crow: The National Negro Congress and the Rise of Militant Civil Rights
book cover: The Warmth of Other Suns: the Epic Story of America's Great Migration
book cover: Blood at the Root: Lynching as American Cultural Nucleus.
book cover: Redress for Historical Injustices in the United States
book cover: The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism
Four Hundred Souls : a Community History of African America, 1619-2019
book cover: A Dreadful Deceit: the Myth of Race from the Colonial Era to Obama's America
book cover: The Souls of Black Folk
book cover:  Civil War Monuments and the Militarization of America
White Reconstruction Domestic Warfare and the Logics of Genocide
The False Cause Fraud, Fabrication, and White Supremacy in Confederate Memory
book cover: Down along with That Devil's Bones : a Reckoning with Monuments, Memory, and the Legacy of White Supremacy
Disabilities of the Color Line : Redressing Antiblackness from Slavery to the Present

PNW Black Experience

Special Collections highlights select archival and printed materials, photographs, and moving image collections that relate to Black communities, political groups, and civil rights movements in the Pacific Northwest in their new guide, African American Research & Archival Collections in the Pacific Northwest Collection. Some collections include digitized material.  Keep in mind that at this time, Special Collections is closed to the public.

Civil Rights & Labor History Consortium

Statues & Memorials in the News

Selected Academic Articles @ UW Libraries

Use America History & Life and the Black Studies Center to find additional scholarly articles on this topic. Other relevant databases and resources can be found on the African American History Research Guide.

Black Perspectives

credits

Curated by Anne Jenner and Theresa Mudrock. Many of the ebooks highlighted on this page were taken from UW History professor Margaret O'Mara's bibliography, Historians on the 2020 Protests and from Oxford Bibliographies: African American Studies.

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms