Skip to Main Content
Background resources provide contextual information. This category may include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, maps, statistical sources, and more.
Selected Web Sites
The BlackPast online reference center makes available six centuries of African American history.
Civil Rights Seattle
Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project is based at the University of Washington
Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases.
Racial Justice Resources
A starting point for students and faculty seeking to better understand issues related to racial justice and racism in America. It is a work in progress
Selected Print and Web Sources - Broad Coverage
Dictionary of Race and Ethnic Relations
Focus on issues impacting African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Jewish Americans, and Native Americans including black feminism, environmental racism and many more.
Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood
Print resource on African-Americans, Asian-Americans, Hispanic-Americans, Jewish-Americans, and Native-Americans in film.
Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America
Comprehensive, alphabetically-organized reference source on the human rights and civil liberties that are legally recognized in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism
Temporary online access through HathiTrust. This resource examines American history and society through the experience of diverse groups whose concerns and contributions have often been overlooked.. Print volume available in Suzzallo|Allen E184.A1 E58 1994.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education
Temporary online access through HathiTrust. Provides general overviews, summaries, and topical descriptions of multicultural education. Print volumes available in Suzzallo|Allen LC1099.3 .M58 1999 .
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library, full-text encyclopedias in all subject areas.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Original essays (about 8,000-12,000 words each) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. Multiple online access points.
Harvard Encyclopedia yclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
Temporary online access through HathiTrust. An indispensable reference work that establishes a foundation for the burgeoning field of ethnic studies. Provides a guide to the history, culture, and distinctive characteristics of the more than 100 ethnic groups who live in the United States. Print volumes available is Suzzallo|Allen E184.A1 H35 .
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database emphasizing English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, author biographies, and critical essays.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Sage Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and handbooks on many subjects.
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRM) This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, case studies, datasets, and video covering the practices of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research methodologies. See SRM Guide