Skip to Main Content
All UW Libraries are CLOSED but online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Finding Journal Articles & more
Articles on American Indian, Native American, or indigenous topics can be found in databases covering various disciplines. Those listed here are some of the major databases for conducting research on topics in ethnic studies.
Database searching tips
Use databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to articles and other materials. There are specialized databases for various subjects. Listed in the boxes below are some selected database starting points for finding articles on topics in Native Americans.
- The connector AND returns results with both terms: Muckleshoot AND treatise;
Existing Indian Family Exception AND ICWA
- The connector OR returns results with either term: American Indians OR Native Americans OR First Nations
Good for use with related terms or synonyms
- Placing terms in parentheses ( ) indicates separate concepts, like an equation, (A or B) and C
genocide AND ( American Indians OR Native Americans OR First Nations )
- Placing two or more words in quotation marks " " returns results using that specific phrase
- Truncation * returns results with a root word and any ending
genocid* [finds genocide, genocides, genocidal ...]
Note: some databases use different truncation symbols (* is most common; others include !, $,
Starting Points for American Indian Studies
The databases below provide access to articles, many in full-text.
More Article Databases...
Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus. Accessible off-campus by UWNetID.
Selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Covers all aspects of North America's aboriginal culture, history and life. Includes books, journals and government documents. Includes some links to full-text.
Reports, summaries, and pro/con views on a range of current issues,1923-present.
Education-related literature, from pre-K through adult education.
eHRAF World Cultures
Info on cultures & ethnic groups
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Comprehensive database of poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, author biographies, topic overviews, and critical essays.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Scholarly journal articles and more covering all aspects of linguistics.
Comprehensive database emphasizing English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, author biographies, and critical essays.
Social Science Research Network
Contains abstracts and full text research papers, covering accounting, economics, Latin American, finance, and legal scholarship.
Social Work Abstracts
Journal articles in social work and social welfare.
Web of Science
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
E-Journals in American Indian Studies
E-Journals are online full-text scholarly (academic, peer reviewed, refereed) publications to which the library subscribes.
Scholarly journals and books in all disciplines.
Collection of humanities & social sciences electronic journals & 20,000+ ebooks.
No Online Article Available
If the full-text of an article is not available directly in a database such as America: History and Life, then click on the Check for Full Text UW button to find out if the UW has an electronic or print copy of the journal article you need. If there is no button, then check UW Libraries Search for the title of the journal to determine if the UW owns a copy.
Ethnic Studies Commons
The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. This dynamic research tool includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.