Skip to Main Content
All UW Libraries are CLOSED but online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Selected Primary Source Resources
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest - digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.
- American Memory - a premier collection for American history. Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- American periodical series online - American magazine articles, 1740 to 1900.
- Burke Museum Ethnology Collection - The Burke's ethnographic collections include objects, photographs, and archival records on the cultures of the Pacific Rim.
- Government resources on Native Americans - Treaties, laws, tribal recognition, reservations, maps, and Indian Claims Commission Decisions.
- History Vault: American Indians and the American West - variety of collections from the U.S. National Archives, a series of collections from the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration.
- Indigenous Peoples of North America - extensive collection of monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph.
- Language Resources: UW Language Learning Center - includes the language or dialect continuum of several Salish Native American groups of modern-day Washington state among others. Audio recordings.
Additional campus language links.
- National Museum of the American Indian - the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex. The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.
- Native American History - Links to resources that provide primary source information and images
- Native Voices - Native Voices at the University of Washington is a center where students, faculty, and independent producers create documentaries and media research that contributes to the understanding, strengthening, and support of Indigenous people and communities.
- North American Indian Drama - Plays by twentieth-century American Indian and First Nations playwrights. Includes issues of the Native playwrights' newsletter.
- North American Indian thought & Culture- Compilation of biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
- Northwest Digital Archives(NWDA)- provides access to guides of primary sources in the Northwestern United States, including correspondence, diaries, or photographs.
- Navaho (Navajo) - an Athabaskan language spoken in the southwest United States by the Navajo people. Audio recordings.
- Northwest Indian Fisheries Commission - a natural resources management support service organization for 20 treaty Indian tribes in western Washington.
- Seattle Civil Rights & Labor History Project - Sponsored by the UW-Seattle History Department, a research project to document various as aspects of Seattle Civil Rights history, with sections of on the Fish-in Protests at Franks Landing and Urban Indians in Seattle.
- Washington Tribes - information relating to the 29 federally recognized tribes in Washington State.
- Native One Stop - a one-stop shop for American Indians and Alaska Natives to access resources available from the U.S. Government.
Click to Chat with a Librarian