Skip to main content
Dissertations: Electronic Resources
The following databases either index or provide full text to dissertations. If full text is not available, check the UW Libraries Catalog for library holdings. Those not listed in the catalog or available online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Theses Canada Portal
Indexes approximately 300,000 theses and dissertations on microform in Library and Archives Canada's collection. Of these, approximately 50,000 are also available in fulltext.
UW Libraries Catalog
Search the catalog to find UW dissertations by department. Search by Genre/Form with the following combination of terms: "theses english" or "theses comparative literature."
Dissertations: Print Resources
The following sources are all located in Suzzallo First Floor Reference:
- Index to Theses Accepted for Higher Degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland (1950-1985)
- Retrospective Index to Theses of Great Britain and Ireland, 1716-1950
- Theses in English literature, 1894-1970
- Theses in American literature, 1896-1971
- Dissertations on Anglo-Irish Drama: a Bibliography of Studies, 1870-1970
- Dissertations in English and American Literature: Theses Accepted by Austrian, French and Swiss Universities, 1875-1970
- Critical Writings on Commonwealth Literatures: a Selective Bibliography to 1970, with a List of Theses and Dissertations
- Canadian Literature: an Index to Theses Accepted by Canadian Universities, 1925-1980
- Theses on English-Canadian Literature: a Bibliography of Research Produced in Canada & Elsewhere from 1903 Forward
- Southern Literary Culture: a Bibliography of Masters' and Doctors' Theses
- An Annotated Bibliography of North American Doctoral Dissertations on Old English Language and Literature
- Master's Theses in the Arts and Social Sciences (1976-1990)