HSTAA 406 / AAS 406: Asian American Activism: Home

Class Research Guide

This page brings together many of the resources that you will need to use for your research along with some explanatory information on various types of sources.

Research Step by Step -- an illustrated strategy for finding primary & secondary sources on a topic
Background -- encyclopedias for quick info
Secondary Sources -- links to databases for finding books & journal articles
Primary Sources: Books -- search strategies on finding books that are primary sources
Primary Sources: News & Magazines -- links to databases for finding newspapers & magazines
Primary Sources: Government Documents -- links to databases for finding US government publications such as congressional hearings
Primary Sources: Other -- additional collections of primary sources dealing with American & Asian American history
Primary Sources: Manuscripts -- information on finding unpublished manuscript collections

For additional resources see the Asian American history research guide and the research guides for American history (including the sections on the West & PNW).

Most of the databases on this guide are restricted to UW students, staff and faculty. When you use a link with lock icon you may be prompted to login with your uwnetid and password.

Have questions or need research help? Please contact Theresa Mudrock, the history librarian, via email at mudrock@uw.edu. We can converse via email or meet in-person to chat about your research.

Citation Guide

Historian's generally use the Chicago style format for footnotes/endnotes and bibliography. This one page guide provides examples for the most common type of sources. See the Citations and Writing page for more guides and information.