Skip to Main Content
Research Guides

John Vallier: Publications, Grants

Stewarding audio/video/film collections @ the University of Washington Libraries in Seattle.

Writing

Chapters

2019. With Dr. Lorraine Sakata and Dr. Laurel Sercombe. “Radio Afghanistan Archive Project: Building Capacity, Averting Repatriation.” The Oxford Handbook of Musical Repatriation. Edited by Frank Gunderson, Robert C. Lancefield, and Bret Woods. Oxford University Press.

2019. With Andrew Weaver. "Media Services." The Culture of Digital Scholarship in Academic Libraries. Robin Chin Roemer, Verletta Kern ALA Editions, ALA Editions. Available from: American Library Association, Chicago. 

2018. "Preserving the Past, Activating the Future: Collaborative Archiving in Ethnomusicology." Ethnomusicology: A contemporary reader. Volume II. Edited by Jennifer Post. Routledge.

2018. "Authorship." Keywords in Remix Studies. Edited by Eduardo Navas, Owen Gallagher, xtine burrough. Routledge.

2018. With Eduardo Navas, Owen Gallagher, xtine burrough and others. "Appropriation." Keywords in Remix Studies. Edited by Eduardo Navas, Owen Gallagher, xtine burrough. Routledge.

Articles

May 2021. "Community Collaboration in Ethnomusicology Archives: Ethical Considerations for Collections Management." ARSC Journal. Association for Recorded Sound Collections. Vol. 52:1 (Spring 2021). 

March 2016. With Judy Tsou. “Ether Today, Gone Tomorrow: Online-Only Music Collection Crisis.” Notes. Notes 72, 3. Music Library Association. Philadelphia, PA.

May 2015. “Online-Only Media: 21st Century Collection in Crisis?” D-Lib Magazine. Invited to contribute by D-Lib Magazine Editor.

July 2014. "Fear and Control in a Rock n' Roll Archive." Journal for the International Association of Sound and Audiovisual Archives, No 43. Pages 62-69. IASA: Canberra, Australia.

July 2014. "Collaborative Archiving Out West: Aspirations, Frustrations, Celebrations." Folklife Today: Library of Congress' American Folklife Center Blog. Invited to contribute by Head of Library of Congress’ American Folklife Center Archive.

2013. Multiple entries: "Archives, Sound Recording and Moving Image,” “Popular Music, Seattle,” “Baker, Theodore,” "Browner, Tara," "Heth, Charlotte," “Ives, Benjamin,” “Rhodes, Willard,” and "Taylor, Timothy Dean." The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition.  Oxford University Press, NYC.

Spring 2012. "Archival Magnetism: UW Libraries’ Puget Sounds Project." Seattle Area Archivists Newsletter.

September 2010. “Sound Archiving Close to Home: Why Community Partnerships Matter.” Notes. Music Library Association. Volume 67, Number 1. Pages 39-49. Philadelphia, PA.

April 2010. “Killer App or Chindogu? Academic Media Centers in the 21st Century.” Library Trends. 58, no. 3. Pages 378-390. University of Illinois Library School: Urbana, IL.

December 2005. “Balancing User Perspectives with Archival Reality.” Journal for the International Association of Sound and Audiovisual Archives (IASA). Number 26. Pages 17-22. IASA: Canberra, Australia.

Summer 2003. "Ethnomusicology as Tool for the Christian Missionary" and "Reply to Schrag- Coulter's Response." European Meetings in Ethnomusicology 10: Pages 85-97, 109-116.

Reviews and Bios (selected)

2020. Biography of Ruins (musical group). Spotify. 

October 2003. Review of the "Rough Guide to Americana.” All Music Guide to Country: The Definitive Guide to Country (2nd Edition). Backbeat Books: San Francisco, CA. 

April 2003. Review of The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Volume 3: The United States and Canada. Library Quarterly v73 i2, April. University of Chicago Press: Chicago, IL. Pages 213-214. 

2002. Biography of the Asian American Jazz Orchestra and reviews of Paul Motian's "Trioism,” Eddie Harris' "Real Electrifying Eddie Harris,” and Airto Moreira's "Killer Bees and the Gods of Jazz.” All Music Guide to Jazz: The Definitive Guide to Jazz (4th Edition). Backbeat Books: San Francisco, CA. 

2001. Reviews of "Secret Museum of Mankind: Music of North Africa, 1925-1948,” “Secret Museum of Mankind: Music of East Africa, 1925-1948,’ "On the Edge of The Ituri Forest: Northeastern Belgian Congo," "The Music of Madagascar: Classical Traditional Recordings of the 1930's,” King Sunny Ade's "Seven Degrees North,” Shankar's "Pancha Nadai Pallavi,” Ruins’ “Stonehenge,” "La Trova Tradicional de Yucatan,” and "Secret Museum of Mankind: Ethnic Music Classics, Vol. 1," "Vol. 2," "Vol. 3," and "Vol. 4.” All Music Guide: The Definitive Guide to Popular Music (4th Edition). Backbeat Books: San Francisco, CA. 

2001. Review of Trans Am's "Redline" (Thrill Jockey). All Music Guide to Electronica: The Definitive Guide to Electronic Music. Backbeat Books: San Francisco, CA. 

2001. Biography of Ruins (musical group). All Music Guide: The Definitive Guide to Popular Music (4th Ed.). Backbeat Books: San Francisco.

Discographies 

July 2005. “Current Discography, Vol. 49, No. 2 (Summer 2005).” Society for Ethnomusicology. Bloomington, IN.

February 2005. “Current Discography, Vol. 49, No. 1 (Winter 2005).” Society for Ethnomusicology. Bloomington, IN.

October 2004. “Current Discography, Vol. 48, No. 3 (Fall 2004).” Society for Ethnomusicology. Bloomington, IN.
 

Grants

External Funding

"Pacific Northwest Native American Cylinder and Disc Digitization Project.” CLIR’s Recordings at Risk grant program (funded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation): PI, $35,830 awarded. 2019 - 2020.  

"National Forum on Online-Only Music: 21st "Century Sound Recording Collection in Crisis." IMLS National Leadership Grants for Libraries: Co-PI, $80,035 awarded. 2014 - 2015. 

"Collecting Online Music Project.” NEH Digital Humanities Start-Up Grant. Co-PI, $18,881 awarded. 2010 - 2011. 

"A Summer Education and Training Residency for Radio Afghanistan.” NEH Summer Education and Training Residency grant (PE-50020-0): Consultant and instructor for PI Lorraine Sakata: $68,768 awarded. 2008 - 2009. 

“San Diego Folk Heritage.” Grammy Foundation Audio Preservation Grant. Consultant to PI Lou Curtiss: $35,128 awarded. 2007 - 2008. 

“DK Wilgus Access & Preservation Project." Grammy Foundation Audio Preservation Grant: $40,000 awarded. 2006. 

"Preserving and Cataloging the Radio Afghanistan Audio Archives.” NEH Grant. Consultant to Lorraine Sakata: $118,000 awarded. 2006 - 2007. 

“Central Asian Archiving Project.” Christensen Foundation. Consultant with Laurel Sercombe for PI Lorraine Sakata: $100,000 awarded. 2004 - 2005. 

“First Nations Audio Preservation Project.” Grammy Foundation Audio Preservation Grant. PI: $22,000 awarded. 2003 - 2004. 

Internal Funding

“Lushootseed Audio Digitization.” Friends of the Libraries. PI, $4,984.80 awarded. July 2018 – April 2019.

“Streaming Video Licensing.” UW Libraries, Kenneth S. Allen Library Endowment. Principal Investigator: $15,000 (two $7,500 grants) awarded. January and March 2013. 

“The Kearney Barton Collection: Archiving the NW Sound.” American Music Partnership of Seattle (AMPS). Principal investigator: $10,000 awarded. April 2010 – April 2011. 

"Media & Music Workstation Upgrade.” UW Student Technology Fee. Principal investigator, $53,483 awarded. March 2010 – April 2011.

“Australian Aboriginal Documentaries.” UW Libraries, Kenneth S. Allen Library Endowment. Principal Investigator. Principal investigator, $2,750 awarded. June 2009. 

“Media Enhancement and Immersion Project.” UW Student Technology Fee. Principal investigator, $72,185 awarded. May 2009 – June 2010. 

"Global Warming Documentaries.” UW Libraries Allen Endowment for Collections. Principal investigator, $2,000 awarded. October 2007.

"Media Research and Digitization Space." UW Techfee Grant. PI, $67,000 awarded. Proposal available here. 2014 - 2015.  

“Gospel Archiving in Los Angeles (GALA).” UCLA in LA Community Partnership. PI, $30,000 awarded. 2004 – 2005.

“Archiving Filipino American Music in Los Angeles (AFAMILA)." UCLA in LA Community Partnership. PI, $30,000 awarded. 2003 – 2004.

Sound Recordings (selected)

2020. "Kearney Barton: Architect of the Northwest Sound" (Light in the Attic Records): executive producer. 

2010. "The Black Sessions, 1997" with Swell at Radio France (Sangatte Records): drums. 

2006. "Climax Golden Twins" (Conspiracy Records): performer. 

2004. "Inaccuracies Of The Mind Machine" with Jet Black Crayon (Function 8): guest drums. 

2002. "Minority Report" video game soundtrack (Activision): composer. 

2001. "Climax Golden Twins" ‎(CD, Fire Breathing Turtle): performer. 

1997. "Japanese Rumba" ‎(CD, Yak'uz'a): composer. 

1996. "Imperial Household Orchestra" (CD, Scratch Records): various. 

1995. "Climax Golden Twins" (three inch CD, Fire Breathing Turtle Records): various. 

1994. "Climax Golden Twins" (2 x 7 inch, Fire Breathing Turtle Records): various.