Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

Southeast Asia Luce Foundation Archives Fellows and Libraries Trainee Information: Professional SE Asia Librarian Training Position

Description of research themes and collections being considered under the Henry Luce Foundation grant: Tracing Authoritarianism: Linking Southeast Asia and Southeast Asian-America Through Archives, Language, and Pedagogy.

SE Asia Librarian Professional Training Application

Exciting Career Opportunity for a Graduating Southeast Asia Ph.D. in the field of Librarianship

The University of Washington Libraries is offering an exciting career development opportunity for candidates seeking to pursue a career in administration and development of Southeast Asia library collections. Candidates holding a minimum of an M.A., preferably with a PhD or some doctoral credits, in any discipline with a focus on Southeast Asia are eligible to apply for this 2-year position. The successful candidate will work half-time in one of the country’s premier Southeast Asia collections while completing a 2-year MLIS professional library degree at the University of Washington Information School.

The position requires professional competence in any field of Southeast Asian Studies research and working knowledge of at least one Southeast Asian language. Applicants must apply and be accepted to the Master of Library and Information Science program at the Information School of the University of Washington. To be considered, applicants should apply by the May 1, 2022 deadline. Applications are being accepted now.

Candidates should also follow the application process through the University of Washington hiring site, submit a CV and a 2-page cover letter that includes the same vision for an innovative career as a Southeast Asia scholar in the field of library and information science that you submit as your personal statement in your MLIS application.

The successful candidate will receive a half-time appointment as a Graduate Research Assistant at the University of Washington Libraries, a fellowship stipend, tuition, and health benefits.  Compensation is comparable to a half-time professional level position.


Required Qualifications:

  1. M.A. in any discipline with a focus on Southeast Asia, and/or significant doctoral research credits.
  2. Admission and enrollment in the MLIS degree program as a full-time student at the University of Washington Information School as of Autumn 2022.
  3. Reading and speaking competence in at least one Southeast Asian Language: Thai/Lao, Indonesian/Malay, Vietnamese, Tagalog, Khmer, or Burmese.
  4. Basic computer skills and ability to work with a variety of database and bibliographic management systems.

Desired Qualifications:

  1. Ph.D. in any discipline with an area focus on Southeast Asia.
  2. Interest in learning an additional Southeast Asian language, at least to minimal reading level.
  3. Interest in web publishing and digital humanities.

Application Process

  1. Apply and be accepted to the Master of Library and Information Science program at the Information School of the University of Washington
  2. Submit your CV and cover letter through the University of Washington hiring site.

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms