Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- JSIS 495 - Winter 2022
- Task Force B: Solving Seattle's Housing Crisis
JSIS 495 - Winter 2022: Task Force B: Solving Seattle's Housing Crisis
Description
The charge of this task force will be to develop a set of actionable policies at the municipal level that would offer a remedy to the housing crisis. What this means more specifically is,
- Building a sufficient supply of affordable homes that are top quality, durable, aesthetically pleasing, and energy efficient.
- Integrating below-market and market-rate homes in a welcoming, inclusive, highly livable neighborhood.
- Expanding and incorporating shared green spaces as well as other amenities such as childcare into more densified neighborhoods.
- Densifying with a respect for sustaining the historical character and charm of certain buildings, landscapes, and neighborhoods.
Seattle and Puget Sound Sources
- City of Seattle - HousingInformation for renters, homeowners, and developers in Seattle.
- City of Seattle - Heightened Displacement Risk DashboardData on who is most affected by displacement.
- City of Seattle - HomelessnessSeattle’s response to homelessness under Mayor Durkan.
- City of Seattle - Neighborhood SnapshotsDemographics, current community concerns, and links to neighborhood blogs.
- King County Housing Authority (KCHA)As per the agency's website: "The King County Housing Authority provides rental housing and rental assistance to more than 22,500 households. We serve low-income people in 33 cities—not including Seattle and Renton—as well as in unincorporated areas of King County. KCHA owns 137 properties with 11,582 units including 4,284 units of subsidized housing for families, the elderly, and disabled people."
- Municipal Research and Services Center (MRSC) of Washington - PlanningLegal and policy guidance for local governments in Washington on planning, housing, homelessness, and land use.
- Municipal Research and Services Center (MRSC) - Transit Oriented Development"This page provides an overview of transit-oriented development for local governments in Washington State, including useful resources and examples of local TOD plans and ordinances."
- Puget Sound Regional CouncilPolicies on regional growth, transportation, and economic development planning. The council's Regional Housing Strategy provides a "playbook” of regional and local actions to improve and expand housing.
- Seattle Housing AuthorityLow-income housing and rental assistance.
- Housing and Urban Development (HUD) - Housing Market AnalysisDepartment of Housing and Urban Development reports on housing market conditions for metropolitan areas in Washington.
- Washington State Geospatial Data Archive (WAGDA)WAGDA offers access to digital geospatial data on WA State that can be used to make maps when used with GIS software.
- Low Income Housing Institute (LIHI) - SeattleThe LIHI maintains low-income esidential properties and urban rest areas for homeless Seattleites.
- Plymouth HousingPlymouth maintains 17 historic apartment buildings and provides services for homeless and low-income residents.
News Sources
- E-newspapers GuideWashington state, US, and global news sources.
- Puget Sound Business Journal
This link opens in a new window
Seattle-area business news and annual rankings. Husky OnNet required.for off-campus access.
Scholarly Journal Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields. - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to publications in architecture, urban design, urban planning, interior design, and historic preservation from 1741 to present. - Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This article database includes urban planning resources not covered by Avery or Academic Search Complete. - Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete contains articles on ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, and urban planning.
- Journal of Planning Literature
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes 400+ journals and provides comprehensive coverage of the city and regional planning literature. Browse and Search functions. - UW Libraries Catalog - Housing E-journalsThis is a UW LIbraries catalog search for e-journals pertaining to housing.
Policy Sources
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social and public policy literature from periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources. - EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EconLit contains scholarly articles, books, dissertations, working papers and book reviews on economics. 1886-present.
- IssueLab: Housing and HomelessnessResearch on housing and homelessness produced by social sector organizations.
- National Housing ConferenceAdvocacy, research, and education on affordable housing.
- Joint Center for Housing StudiesHousing research aimed at government, business, and civic sector leaders.
Contact the librarians!
Amanda Pirog, Business Librarian
Jessica Jerrit, Business and Economics Librarian
Schedule an appointment with Amanda or Jessica
Alan Michelson, Head, Built Environments Library
Research Guides
- Real EstateSubject page for Real Estate Studies by Alan Michelson.
- Geospatial Data ResourcesGIS resources and help
Federal Sources
- Census Bureau Housing DataThis Census Bureau collects a "...wide range of data on the size, age and type of American homes; home values, rents and mortgages, the housing and construction industry, and more."
- Federal Transit Administration (FTA) Transit-Oriented DevelopmentFTA website with.information on incentives and programs aimed at creating transit-oriented development, including housing
- Housing and Urban Development (HUD) - Approved Nonprofit Organizations and Government EntititesA list of FHA partners with HUD-approved Nonprofit Organizations and Governmental Entities to ensure that financing is available to provide housing opportunities to low- to moderate-income families.
- Housing and Urban Development (HUD) - Housing Choice Vouchers Fact SheetHUD website describing its housing voucher program "...assisting very low-income families, the elderly, and the disabled to afford decent, safe, and sanitary housing in the private market."
- Housing and Urban Development (HUD) - Rental Help WashingtonLinks for HUD-subsidized housing in WA State
- National Urban League HousingHousing programs backed by this civil rights organization.