University of Washington Libraries
Ask Us!

A-Z Databases

A selection of databases to find citations, full text articles, and other materials. See Guides for recommended databases in each discipline. See A-Z Database Subject Terms for details about each subject. Responsible Use of Electronic Resources

Loading...

The University of Washington is committed to providing access for individuals with disabilities. If you need an accessible alternative format for content in these electronic resources, please contact uwlib-a11y@uw.edu.

Search for an article by:


 

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.

AVON - Academic Video Online
New
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, educational films, and news clips in many subject areas.
Consumer Pyramids dx
New
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
  • An individual account is needed to access content This link opens in a new window
The world's largest household panel survey, a continuous survey of more than 174,000 households in India, produced by the Centre for Monitoring Indian Economy (CMIE).
Coronavirus Research Database
Trial
Collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses.
Czechoslovakia Crisis; 1968 : The State Department's Crisis Files
Trial
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
State Department documents representing an administrative history of the crisis. Trial access ends March 31, 2025.
Decolonization: Politics and Independence in Former Colonial and Commonwealth Territories
Trial
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window

Primary source material from within former British colonies and Commonwealth nations, alongside some from former French and Portuguese territories. Trial access ends March 31, 2025.

EBSCOhost for Health Sciences & Medicine
New
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
Temporary link to a collection of Health Sciences & Medicine EBSCOhost databases with the old user interface that allows for bulk export. Once the new user interface is enhanced with bulk export, this temporary link will be removed. Databases include: CINAHL, Health Source, and MEDLINE.
Environmental History
Trial
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials from two collections: Conservation and Public Policy in America, 1870-1980; Colonial Policy and Global Development, 1896-1993. Trial access ends March 31, 2025.
FactSet
New
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
  • Access only for current UW students, faculty & staff This link opens in a new window
  • An individual account is needed to access content This link opens in a new window
Data and analytics on global financial and economic markets and companies.
Gale Digital Scholar Lab
Trial
  • Access only for current UW students, faculty & staff This link opens in a new window
  • An individual account is needed to access content This link opens in a new window
Apply natural language processing tools to raw text data (OCR) from Gale Primary Sources in a single research platform. Trial access ends March 31, 2025.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980
Trial
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window

United States newspapers published by Hispanics.
Trial access ends February 28, 2025.

History of Disabilities: Disabilities in Society; Seventeenth to Twentieth Century
Trial
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
Books, manuscripts, and ephemera that provide a historical view of disabilities from the seventeenth to twentieth century. Trial access ends March 31, 2025.
ImportGenius
New
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
  • Access only for current UW students, faculty & staff This link opens in a new window
  • An individual account is needed to access content This link opens in a new window
  • Husky OnNet required to access from off-campus This link opens in a new window
International import and export shipment records, including factory, product, arrival dates and port-of-entry details. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access.
Muteferriqa
Trial
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
  • Husky OnNet required to access from off-campus This link opens in a new window
Muteferriqa is a primary source research portal containing 7 million pages of Ottoman Turkish printed books and periodicals, on which you can search and read in Ottoman, Turkish, and English; and make visual discoveries as well through image search. It contains an exceptionally rich collection of printed materials published in the Ottoman Empire from the 18th to mid-20th century. Trial access ends January 31, 2025.
Philosophy in the Islamic World Online: 8th - 10th Centuries
New
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and unprecedented reference work devoted to the history of philosophy in the realms of Islam in its formative period: from its beginnings in the eighth century up to the tenth century AD.
Political Extremism and Radicalism
Trial
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from two collections: Far-Right Groups in America; Global Communist and Socialist Movements. Trial access ends March 31, 2025.
Power to the People: Counterculture; Social Movements; and the Alternative Press.
Trial
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
Primary sources documenting a range of ideas, initiatives, and social movements devoted to people-powered politics and organizing from the nineteenth through twenty-first centuries. Trial access ends March 31, 2025.
ProQuest One Literature
New
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One is for scholars who must engage with an exhaustive and diverse set of scholarly resources around a given literary topic for research and course planning. It contains 5 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings.
Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America; 1890-1970
Trial
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
Documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. Trial access ends March 31, 2025.
Rand Daily Mail 1902-1985
Trial
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window

A critically important title published in Johannesburg that pioneered popular journalism in South Africa.
Trial access ends February 28, 2025.

Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, Ethiopia, 1945-1963.
Trial
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
State Department records related to the Ethiopia. Trial access ends March 31, 2025.
Regional Economic Data Toolkit
New
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
Four unique US datasets created by the Council for Community and Economic Research (C2ER).
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
New
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
Primary sources on the transatlantic slave trade, abolitionist movements, institution of slavery in the US and Latin America, and emancipation.
Transcripts of the Malcolm X Assassination Trial
Trial
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
New York State Supreme Court records including testimony, motions, summations and verdicts. Trial access ends March 31, 2025.
U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: The Little Rock Integration Crisis, 1957-1958
Trial
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
Records include a journal of events, a summary of the operation, press reports and more. Trial access ends March 31, 2025.
Zhongguo nian jian quan wen shu ju ku 中國年鑑全文數據庫
New
  • Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus This link opens in a new window
Full-text yearbooks from China, covering literature, history, philosophy, economics, politics, law, and education. Sections F, G, H, & J only.

Icon Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus
Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus
Icon Content downloadable; app/software may be required
Content downloadable; app/software may be required
Icon Access only for current UW students, faculty & staff
Access only for current UW students, faculty & staff
Icon HeinOnline
HeinOnline
Icon An individual account is needed to access content
An individual account is needed to access content
Icon Husky OnNet required to access from off-campus
Husky OnNet required to access from off-campus
title
Loading...

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms