Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
How to Trace Washington State Laws
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
State and Local Government Publications
State and Local Government Publications: Local government
Resources for accessing Washington State and local government publications.
City of Seattle resources
City departments, offices, and divisions
Seattle Municipal Archives
Provides public access to records that document the history, development, and activities of the agencies and elected officials of the City of Seattle.
Seattle municipal code
The most current available compilation of city ordinances.
Provides machine-readable datasets generated by various departments of Seattle City Government.
City public affairs and general interest programming. Includes video archive of City Council and Committee meetings, and other government programming.
King County resources
County government information, including the
King County Council
, and more.
King County Archives
A repository of historical county government records.
King County Code
Compilation of ordinances that are permanent or general in nature.
An index/finding aid to legislation considered by the Metropolitan King County Council.
Additional city and county resources
Puget Sound Regional Council
Source of data and publications on growth, transportation, and economic development for cities, towns, counties, ports, and state agencies in the four-county central Puget Sound region.
Municipal Research and Services Center
Information about and for counties and cities in Washington state. Excellent source on policy issues and governance. Includes
data sources by county
County and City Data for Washington
From the Washington State Office of Financial Management. Search by county, or by topic--economy, fiscal analysis, human services, population.
Data for local Communities
Statistical, spatial, and descriptive information about the cities, counties and other civil, economic and natural regions of Oregon and Washington.
The Performance Center
From the Office of the Washington State Auditor, a database of program evaluations, case studies, trainings, and best practices for local governments.
International City/County Management Association (ICMA)
Professional association that provides resources, data, and publications on best practices for local government management.
Municipal codes across Washington and other U.S. states.
Cities, Counties and States
King County Voter Guides
Sep 17, 2018 2:29 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Political Science, Government & Law
city of seattle