Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Send us questions via text message.
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
Learn French: Dictionaries/Vocab
Oxford Reference: Bilingual Dictionaries
Includes: Oxford Business French Dictionary: French-English and English-French; Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English and English-French
Free online bilingual dictionaries and language forums
The ARTFL Project French-English Dictionary
Free online resource from the ARTFL Project at the University of Chicago
Le Trésor de la Langue Française informatisé (TLFi)
Free online dictionary of 19th- and 20th-century French that allows searching by word or pronunciation or browsing alphabetically, published by the Centre de Recherche pour un Trésor de la Langue Française
Dictionnaires Spécialisés Français
Links to specialized dictionaries by subject (e.g., medicine, economics, food) from l'Université de Sherbrooke
French-English and English-French dictionaries with idioms and pronunciations from reputable French publisher Larousse.
Oxford Beginner's French Dictionary
Editor: Marie-Hélène Corréard
Pub Info: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary : French-English, English-French
Editors: Marie-Hélène Corréard; Valerie Grundy
Pub Info: Paris : Hachette ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1994.
Online Vocabulary Practice
French Exercises Index: Flashcards
Links to flashcard sets on topics like basic phrases, idioms, weather, food, and tricky conjugations.
BBC Languages: Ma France -- Glossary
List of vocabulary used in the BBC French learning videos Ma France.
About.com: Advanced French Vocabulary Lessons
Features pages on topics like overused verbs, synonyms for "bon," and faux amis.
Specialized Vocabulary Books
750 French Verbs and Their Uses
Author: Jean-Philippe Mathy; Rosemary McCluskey; Jan Roshan Zamir
Pub Info: New York : Wiley, 1992.
HarperCollins Business French
Editors: Stephen Clarke, Diana Feri, Manuelle Prunier
Pub Info: New York : HarperPerennial, 1992.
French Business Situations: A Spoken Language Guide
Authors: Stuart Williams and Nathalie McAndrew-Cazorla
Pub Info: London ; New York : Routledge, 1995.
Dictionnaire des Synonymes
Authors: Emile Genouvrier; Claude Désirat; Tristan Hordé
Pub Info: Paris: Larousse, 2002.
Author: Joël Robuchon, Prosper Montagné
Pub Info: New York: Clarkson Potter, 2001.
Media French: A Guide to Contemporary French Idiom
Author: Adrian Ritchie
Pub Info: Cardiff: University of Wales Press, 1997.
Click to Chat with a Librarian
via email or phone.
French Word of the Day
Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary
Call Number: PC2640 .O94 1994
Publication Date: 2007-07-23
Available in Odegaard Reference, Suzzallo/Allen Stacks, Tacoma Reference, Suzzallo Reference, and Online.
Feb 8, 2017 11:30 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.