Summary:Traces the evolution of political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices from across the world. It examines the interplay of political ideas and processes to convey the vitality and excitement of politics in practice.
A dictionary of modern politics
Call Number: JA61 .R63 2002
Summary: Extensive definitions of political theories, dogmas and phraseologies, focusing on such terms as peace-keeping, proportional representation, jihad, and others.
Encyclopedia of politics: the left and the right
Call Number: JA61 .E54 2005 v.1-2
Summary: Over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1), and those considered on the right in the right-hand volume (Volume 2).
Summary: Over 1,700 entries on all aspects of politics, embracing the multi-disciplinary spectrum of political theory including political thinkers, history, institutions, and concepts, as well as notable current affairs that have shaped attitudes to politics.
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and international agreements
Call Number: KZ4968 .O84 2003 v.1-4
Summary: Entries on various aspects of the United Nations, as well as articles explaining essential concepts and philosophies, as well as generous quotations or full text for all key treaties, conventions, pacts, protocols, and declarations.
The Greenwood encyclopedia of international relations
Call Number: JZ1160 .N65 2002 v.1-4
Summary: Focuses on the large and small powers and the course of world civilizations, their formative wars and diplomatic, political and economic relations, describing how progressive inclusion into the modern state system affected them.
International relations: the key concepts
Call Number: JZ1160 .G75 2008
Summary: Introduces themes in international relations, with an emphasis on contemporary issues, such as diplomacy, global warming, terrorism, human rights, rogue states, loose nukes, United Nations security, arms control, and ethnic cleansing.
Summary: A guide to international relations and national domestic policies throughout the world, emphasizing events after post-World War II events.
Encyclopedia of political theory
Call Number: JA61 .E515 2010 v.1-3
Summary: Examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times; the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought.
Encyclopedia of political thought
Call Number: JA61 .E52 2001
Summary: Entries touching on a range of political ideas that have influenced governments and individuals over the last several hundred years, with an emphasis on the twentieth century.
Political theory : an encyclopedia of contemporary and classic terms
Call Number: JA61 .H36 2009
Summary: Covering the vital concepts of classical political thought and the language of everyday modern political discourse, this handbook explains the central ideas and recurring themes that inform the Western political tradition.
Summary: Encompassing the whole spectrum of the history and theory of politics from Socrates to Rawls, this is the most comprehensive and scholarly reference work available on its subject.
The Palgrave Macmillan dictionary of political thought
Call Number: JA61 .S37 2007
Summary: Entries cover every aspect of political thought, defining concepts and ideologies, surveying the arguments on issues, giving capsule histories of political institutions, and summarizing the thought of major political theorists.
Declarations of independence : encyclopedia of American autonomous and secessionist movements
Call Number: E183 .E79 2007
Summary: Entries on nationalist, secessionist, and autonomist movements in the US that occurred since the beginning of the American Revolution.
Encyclopedia of media and politics
Call Number: P95.82.U6 E47 2007
Summary: An exploration of the intersection between media and politics, from larger themes such as the role of media in civil, democratic society, to more specific topics such as media ownership and regulation.
Encyclopedia of women and American politics
Call Number: HQ1236.5.U6 E52 2008
Summary: Entries on women who contributed mightily to the American political landscape, as well as related laws, policies, court cases, events, and organizations.
Summary: Contains entries on the key figures, events, and structures that have animated U.S. government and features biographies of all the Presidents, Vice Presidents, and Supreme Court Justices, as well as notable members of Congress.
The Princeton encyclopedia of American political history
Call Number: E183 .P85 2010 v.1-2
Summary: Covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today, addressing both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events.