Skip to Main Content
Research Guides

HSTRY 498: Indigenous Pacific Northwest: Primary Sources: Articles

Newspapers & Magazines as Primary Sources

Newspapers are primary sources that provide a first rough draft of events. Since most newspapers are local in scope, there is good coverage of local issues. Newspapers also provide a good feel for the time period. Most older newspapers do not include indexing. Usually you will need to browse through issues of a newspaper to discover its content.

Magazines are written for a popular audience and tend to be more national in scope. They too provide a good feel for the time period and usually include photographs and other graphics.

 

Pacific Northwest Indigenous Newspapers & Magazines

This is a selection of  PNW Indigenous newspapers. Many are available on microfilm (scanners & printers are available) and are housed in the Microform and Newspaper Collections on the ground floor of Suzzallo Library, others are in print and housed in Special Collections. 

Use the Pacific Northwest regional newspaper & periodical index to search for articles published in local newspapers on various topics. For a comprehensive search also use the card catalog version of this index which is housed in Special Collections. Many newspapers will not have indexing so you will need to browse through a newspaper issue by issue to find pertinent material.

Also be sure to check the Indigenous Peoples: North America database which includes some newspapers, government documents, manuscript material & images.

National Newspapers

The following newspapers are just a selection of those that we have available online. See the E-Newspapers guide for a more comprehensive list. 

Other Pacific Northwest Newspapers

This is a selection of local PNW newspapers. Some are available online while others are on microfilm and are housed in the Microform and Newspaper Collections on the ground floor of Suzzallo Library. To find additional local newspapers (e.g., Ballard News, Daily Olympian, etc.), either use UW Libraries Search and search for the name of city followed by the word "newspapers." For example: ballard newspapers. Or use the card file in the newspaper section located on the ground floor of Suzzallo to discover what newspapers are available for a given locale.

Use the Pacific Northwest regional newspaper & periodical index to search for articles published in local newspapers on various topics. For a comprehensive search also use the card catalog version of this index which is housed in Special Collections. Many newspapers will not have indexing so you will need to browse through a newspaper issue by issue to find pertinent material.

For additional help using the newspaper collection contact Glenda Pearson, head of the Microforms & Newspapers Collections, at pearson@uw.edu.

Magazines

In addition to the online resources listed below the UW Libraries has a printed collection of 20th century magazines such as Time, Newsweek and the Saturday Evening Post. Just go to the AP2 section on the 4th floor of Suzzallo Library to browse these magazines. You can also search some of the databases that have coverage going back to the 19th or early 20th centuries such as JSTOR and Anthropology Plus for primary sources. These are listed the Books & Scholarly Articles Section.

Tags: autumn15, fall15