LIS 510 Information Behavior: Research Resources

User-group Information Needs

Brainstorm the types of information you think your user-group needs; your group may have multiple needs that cover many subjects and disciplines. For example:

• Beekeepers have agricultural, scientific, business and marketing needs.

• Nurses have medical, psychological, interpersonal and time-sensitive information needs.

Having trouble finding the full-text of an article?

Determine if the article you need is available to you online through our Electronic Journals web page. | Time - 01:35 | Transcript | Play Video

How do I set up and use RefWorks to keep track of my citations?

RefWorks is a tool that you can use to keep track of your citations and automatically create bibliographies. Access your RefWorks account with your UW NetID. | Time - 02:35 | Transcript | Play Video

Library and Information Science Databases

Use these databases to begin searching. Bear in mind that you'll want to consult others depending on your user-group. View the subject guides for subject-specific suggestions here.

Library & Information Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from library and information science journals, with an emphasis on journals published in the United Kingdom and countries other than the United States. Covers 1969 to the present. [UW restricted]
Library and Information Science Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 200 library and information-science journals, and more than 600 books per year, from December 1984 to the present. Emphasis is on journals published in the United States. [UW restricted]
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a large but uneven collection of bibliographic citations across a wide range of subject areas. It includes a number of repositories as well as contributions from scholarly publishers. You can set up Google Scholar to locate full-text online articles available to you through the UW Libraries. View the brief tutorial just below this box.

Other sources and tools

Master's Paper Index - Students in the School of Library and Information Science at UNC, Chapel Hill often write their master's papers on various aspects of information seeking. Check to see if a student has covered your, or a related, topic. Most papers are available in full-text and bibliographies can be useful.

Desktop Article Delivery or Interlibrary Loan - Check to see if UW has the full-text of the articles you need. If we have the journal in print but not electronically, use our free desktop article delivery program. If we don't own the article you're looking for, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Web of Science - Cited Reference Search - For articles that are especially pertinent to your research, perform a cited reference search. This will allow you to find other articles that cited the ones you found especially relevant. Web of Science is accessible from this page. Once you're in the database, click on the "cited reference search" link towards the top of the page.