Skip to main content
University of Washington Health Sciences Library

SciENcv and My Bibliography: SciENcv

SciENcv: new tool for generating your NIH biosketch. SciENcv links My Bibliography with your eRA Commons account

New NIH Biosketch Format

The new NIH biosketch format requirement allows applicants to include a link to to a full list of their published work as found in a “publicly available digital database” such as My Bibliography.

SciENcv is a new tool you can use to generate a NIH biosketch using information in your My Bibliography account and eRA Commons account.

Visit Frequently Asked Questions about NIH biosketches for more information, including links to examples of "old format" and "new format" biosketches.

This page contains instructions for setting up and using SciENcv and My Bibliography.  My Bibliography should be set up before you set up SciENcv.        3974884 

Step 1: Do you already have a MyNCBI account?

       

Problems linking your NCBI and eRA Commons accounts?  Email info@ncbi.nlm.nih.gov.  Provide your NCBI user name, eRA Commons user name, and the email address(es) associated with the accounts.

Step 2: My Bibliography - Managing References You've Authored

To comply with new NIH biosketch requirements, you can include a link to My Bibliography to provide a full list of your publications.

Here are the steps to set up My Bibliography:

  1. Log in to My NCBI.
  2. Search for all of your publications in PubMed.  Use the “send to” menu on the search results page to send the references to My Bibliography.
  3. Click on “My NCBI” in the upper right corner.  Look for the My Bibliography box.
  4. Click on “Manage My Bibliography.”  It should be populated with all of your references.
  5. If you have authored additional publications that aren’t included in PubMed, you can manually add them to My Bibliography by clicking on “Add Citation” OR you can upload a file of references in RIS format using these directions.
  6. At the top of the page is a link to make your bibliography “public.”  When you click on this, it will show you the “public URL” that you can paste into your biosketch.
  7. Keep your My Bibliography account up-to-date by periodically adding citations for your newly-published articles.

                                    

Step 3: SciENcv - Tool for Generating NIH Biosketches

SciENcv is a new (optional) tool designed to facilitate the creation of biosketches for NIH and NSF grant applications and annual progress reports.

SciENcv links your biographical information from eRA Commons (education, work experience, award history) with your PubMed publications that have been saved in your My Bibliography account.

                                       

First, set up your My Bibliography as outlined in the box to the left.  Then follow these steps:

  1. Log into My NCBI.
  2. Ensure that your NCBI account is linked to your eRA Commons account.  Click on your user name in the upper right hand corner, go to the Linked Accounts box, and verify (or add) "NIH and eRA Commons."
  3. In My NCBI, find the SciENcv box.  Click on "Click here to create a new CV."
  4. Create a new profile From an External Source.
  5. Choose New NIH Biosketch format for your "type of profile."
  6. Choose eRA Commons for your "external source."

Now your My Bibliography references are linked to the information in your eRA Commons account, and all of the information is available to generate biosketches.

For future biosketches, you can create a new profile From an Existing Profile to reuse elements.

Click HERE for directions on using the SciENcv framework to generate a biosketch to meet NIH and NSF requirements.

SciENcv - Notes and Useful Features

Useful Features and Notes on Using SciENcv

  • You control the content of your SciENcv profile and can edit it as needed.  This includes the ability to hide selective citations or add non-NIH research awards.
  • You choose whether or not to make your SciENcv profile visible to the public.  It is private by default.
  • You can create multiple profiles within SciENcv so that you can tailor your biosketch for each new grant application. 
  • You can export your SciENcv profile as a PDF file and use it when submitting a grant application through the grants.gov website. 
  • Once you create a SciENcv profile, it's static, but you can reuse it or parts of it.
  • When you add references to My Bibliography, those references will also be available in SciENcv.  Click on "show/hide entries" to see them.

Questions?

Please contact the author of this guide or your library liaison, or submit your question using the HSL comment box.

Health Sciences Library | 1959 NE Pacific Street, T334 Health Sciences Building, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA, 206-543-3390 | Privacy | Terms