Research Guides
Quick Guide: Nunavik (Kativik, Québec): Home
Quick Context
- Kativik Regional GovernmentThe Kativik Regional Government administers Kativik, a territorial equivalent that encompasses most of the Nunavik region of Quebec. Nunavik is the northern half of the Nord-du-Québec administrative region and includes all the territory north of the 55th parallel.
Image: Québec - Nunavik. Courtesy: Makivik Corporation
Nunavik is a vast Arctic territory presently administered by the Kativik Regional Government, itself one of two regional governments of the Nord-du-Québec region. A leader in Arctic affairs, both in Canada and internationally, Québec has a unique relationship with the Inuit of Nunavik (the Nunavimmiut). The Québec-Nunavik relationship is a model for a dynamic relationship between a sub-national government and an indigenous region. The relationship provides a template for Arctic nation-states, sub-national regions, the Arctic Council, and the Arctic Indigenous-Qallunaat (outsider) relationship globally.
Related sites of interest:
- Makivik CorporationMakivik Corporation is the legal representative for the Inuit in the province of Québec.
- ParnasimautikParnasimautik is intended to be a process to create a comprehensive vision for the development of Nunavik.
- Plan NordPlan Nord is an ambitious sustainable provincial development program for the development of resources in northern Québec. [Some items in French only]
- Québec Ministry for Native AffairsGovernment department responsible for aboriginal peoples within the province of Québec
Recommended books @ UW Libraries
The UW Libraries has several resources dealing with Québec and Nunavik. Selected titles are listed below; additional books can be found by searching the UW Libraries Catalog for quebec and nunavik.
Books, Media, Newspapers
- Incorporating the familiar : an investigation into legal sensibilities in NunavikPrint book explores a series of philosophic, ethnographic and legal dilemmas produced by the interaction between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal legal cultures, setting up a dialogue between narrative and theory by interspersing accounts of her field experiences in Inuit communities with analytical chapters
- Les Inuit et les Cris du Nord du Québec : territoire, gouvernance, société et culture
This link opens in a new window
E-book discusses key challenges and achievements for the Cree and Inuit in Québec: governance, environment and health, social problems, language, culture, heritage. [Text in French] - Making a living : place, food, and economy in an Inuit communityPrint book discusses the experiences of an Inuit community as it strives to retain the values rooted in life on the land while adjusting to the realities of life in settlements
- Nunatsiaq onlineNunavut-based online newspaper
- Nunavik : Inuit-controlled education in Arctic QuebecPrint book offers a history of the development of self-government in education in Arctic Quebec, from the arrival of the first traders & missionaries in the mid-nineteenth century up to the creation of the Kativik School Board & its evaluation in the 1990s.
- Power from the north : territory, identity, and the culture of hydroelectricity in Quebec
- This link opens in a new window
E-book explores how a culture of hydroelectricity helped shape the material landscape during the first phase of the James Bay hydroelectric project. (Also available in print in Suzzallo and Allen Libraries Stacks: HD9685.C33 Q8 2013) - The history of Nunavik : in the footsteps of the InuitDVD traces the history and culture of the Inuit people of Canada, from their ancestors 8,000 years ago through what customs remain in the 20th century.
- Voices and images of NunavimmiutPrint book series focus on Nunavik issues.
- Yearbook of polar lawAnnual print series focusing on all aspects of the law, including indigenous rights, relating to the North.
Article Indexes & Research Databases
- Arctic and Antarctic Regions This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other material on all aspects of the polar regions - Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of North America's aboriginal culture, history and life. Includes books, journals and government documents. Includes some links to full-text.
- Nunavik BibliographyA cooperative long-term project to build a comprehensive bibliographic database about northern Quebec. Citations only.
Government documents
- James Bay & Northern Québec - Final agreements and related implementation mattersFinal land use and treaty agreements for Québec (Government of Canada)
- James Bay & Northern Québec Agreement - Complementary Agreements 13 to 18 and other agreementsFollow-up agreements to the original James Bay Accord (Government of Québec)